Where it all began


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Moncton
September 14th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My love for traveling all began when I joined this program called Katimavik. The program involves traveling to three different provinces within six
months. Everything was paid for, trips, meals, accomodations. Also if we completed the program we recieved $500 at the end. The catch was living with 7-11 other young people, and we had to do fulltime volunteer work. I left for Ontario on March 3rd, so just over a year ago. Im not going to get into too much detail on this now. But i will say it was the best thing I have ever done with my life and I have met some amazing people. I spent 3 months in Terrace Bay, 2 months in Montreal and a little less than a month in Yellowknife. The type of volunteer work varied from working for newspaper interviewing people, to getting food together for a food bank. It felt so good to help people in need and I hope to be able to do again in the near future.

I am starting this blog so that friends and family can see in detail my adventures, and why i have such a love for travel. In my life I want to experience as much as possible, and I can do that when I travel. I absolutely love to experience other cultures. The music, history, food, way of thinking. It opens your mind up
to so much more.

I know my writing is a bit rusty but it will get better with time. I am going to write about my adventures to Jamaica and Cancun in my next blogs. But am really going to get into detail with the next few trips I take.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



14th September 2011

yay!
Awesome, cannot wait to read more. You don't seem rusty at all. I think you write great!! Hopefully you will get to on another trip with a group like this to volunteer with the locals, etc. I think that would be such a great way to figure out what you want to do with your life, and it would feel really rewarding & satisfying.
15th September 2011

Adventure time :)!
This is awesome to see I really can't wait to read more of it, and also share some of those adventures together! Life is never ever dull with you around I'm so happy to have met such a bright minded and open person <3 I love you!
1st October 2011

Aww:) right back at ya girl!!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb