NOVA SCOTIA: BISMARCK TO WINNIPEG


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
May 22nd 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ADVNTR License PlateADVNTR License PlateADVNTR License Plate

Here's the vanity plate that describes the type of riding I now do.

Bismarck to Rugby to International Peace Gardens to Winnipeg



I know my travel blog is getting a late start but you have to have WIFI to publish so here goes…

A big thanks to JoLynn for planning my Nova Scotia “Send-Off”. We had many friends there and it was a great event. Honey, thanks for all your planning and special touches to make it special. I love you and here’s a great big “thank-you” across the miles. A little rain did not ruin the excitement.

I had been planning the Nova Scotia ride for almost one year. Why Nova Scotia? Well, it’s hard to top the Alaskan Highway and 6,000 miles of beautiful mountain scenery. So, the Eastern part of Canada beckoned after researching the far East Provinces and Nova Scotia had a lot of things I was looking for in a final destination and ride. That will come later.

So, May 22 arrived too soon and before I knew it, the bike had to be packed and repacked to adjust the load and even cut back on items that needed to be left behind. I have very limited room so packing is a critical element. I
Suited UpSuited UpSuited Up

Riding to Canada requires dressing for the possible elements...from textile jackets with liners to textile pants. All have protection in the event I have to set it down...I want to walk away from those possible events
consulted some world travelers and used some of their ideas on what to take and what to leave behind.

Saturday arrived overcast and 59 degrees…some would say that is cold riding weather but with all my extreme gear, it was okay with me. After a quick cup of coffee, which would be my last until I returned (caffeine dehydrates), I donned my riding gear, kissed JoLynn goodbye and set out on my 21 day, 7,000 mile adventure. I even had the wild idea to get a “vanity” license plate. ADVNTR symbolizes the type of riding I really love to do.

My route took be to Steele, ND and straight North to the International Peace Garden. I did stop at the “Geographical Center of North America” to snap a picture.

The Geographic Center of North America -- as important a center as you're likely to find -- lies in the town of Rugby. It's marked by a rock obelisk, about 15 feet tall, flanked by poles flying the US and Canadian flags. It is a monument easily missed. Amazingly, it wasn't until 1931 that this important Center was finally found so I guess it is official. Every town has their “claim to fame.”

I have lived in North Dakota since 1986 and have never been to one of the most traveled to locations in North Dakota…the International Peace Gardens. Heading north from Rugby I finally made it after 24 years! It was very dreary and hardly anyone was at the Center. Of course, tourist season starts soon. I paid a fee of $10.00 for my motorcycle and one person.

The Peace Gardens compromise 2,339 acres of scenic drives, formal and wildflower displays (not many this early in the season) waterfalls, and a large variety of North American birds and animals.

The concept of the Peace Garden was intended to represent a celebration of the peaceful coexistence between Canada and the United States, illustrating to the world their commitment to world peace. We still have a ways to go.

It was dedicated on July 14, 1932. A new feature to the Garden is the 911 Memorial Contemplative Garden. Pretty humbling to know where they came from and to see them up close and personal.

As you can see from the pictures it was overcast and misting and stayed that way from Dunseith, ND to
Peace TowerPeace TowerPeace Tower

The four concrete columns reach a height of 120 feet and is the center point for the Peace Garden.
Winnipeg where I spent my first night on the trip. Total mileage to Winnipeg was almost 400 miles.

I stayed at the Traveler’s Campground in Winnipeg. Not a bad place and lots of green grass to pitch my tent.

Now, the first night camping can be exciting because that is the time you realize if you left something behind and ask the question, “where did I pack the tent mat and other items. It takes a few nights to get into a routine but it all came back.

The first day’s ride was getting back into a routine and slowly realizing what you are about to do and if you can stand up to the elements, long miles, sore but muscles, evading the four-legged animals and just unwinding from work.

In that respect, I was successful.

I hope you enjoy the ride and I will see you later when Day 2 is published.

Rob



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

911 Memorial Display911 Memorial Display
911 Memorial Display

These are steel girders from New York City's former Twin Towers
Right On The BorderRight On The Border
Right On The Border

The front tire is on US soil and the rear time is on Canadian soil.
Entering ManitobaEntering Manitoba
Entering Manitoba

I just passed through Canadian Customs and was asked all the usual questions: When did you last visit Canada, firearms, drugs, etc. At least I was not profiled!
First night campingFirst night camping
First night camping

The first time you set up camp takes a while, but it goes much faster the second time. It also rained that night. That's when the rain fly is very valuable.


25th May 2010

Good Luck
Did not know you were heading out on another big ride. Ride safe and enjoy. Greg
25th May 2010

Ride safe brother
Rob, have a great adventure and be safe. We'll do a road trip together one day! Jody
25th May 2010

Ride
Way to go Rob. Hope you have a wonderful time and a blessed time, in the wide open spaces to spend time with the Creator of everything you see, touch, take a picture of. Ride safe.
25th May 2010

Enjoy!
All the best to you on your adventure. I wish you fair weather, good roads and plenty of rest and relaxation. Safe travels.
25th May 2010

Great Start!
Rob, Looks like you have had a great start to your trip. Thanks again for letting us all in on your adventure. God knows I would never go on a trip like that! Stay safe. We are praying for your safety!
25th May 2010

Look forward to reading all about your trip. Keep safe.
25th May 2010

Bon Voyage
Great to see you on your way....I am so disappointed I had to miss your send off party...AGAIN...I have a question...do you prefer riding solo or would you prefer riding with companions. I know I like both...riding time to myself and with others, but the best for me is one on one, with one other companion riding on the trip. It seems you're never alone on your travels anyway, you tend to seek people out., like the series "On The Road" with Charles Kurault. Rick
25th May 2010

Rugby
Sorry we missed your send-off. Prayers are with you. Just a point of interest. The actual spot of the Geographical center of North America is in a slough SE of Rugby. God Speed.
25th May 2010

Riding Solo
I like riding solo but then it would be nice to have some riding companions who have the same riding style as I do. Up early, break camp and on the road for about two hours before eating breakfast. But that is just me.
25th May 2010

Thanks Everyone
Thank you for taking an interest in my motorcycle travels. I know you enjoy but the real reason is that in my old age and when I am not able to ride, I can go to my travels and relive the adventure.
2nd June 2010

Wow!
Rob, it sounds like a good trip so far. The pictures looked beautiful. Keep us posted. Abby

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb