Finally out of Ontario!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
October 23rd 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ontario is freakin' huge.

What a difference a day makes. First of all, we actually got to sleep in today. What a relief that was since each of the two previous nights I only got a few hours. Combine that with the marathon drive to T-Bay the day before and I was dead tired. Sleeping in 'til 9 was a fantastic fix for that.

As we hit the road the sun came out, melting the ice patches which formed on the truck the previous night. Thunder Bay didn't get hit as hard with the bad weather as did the Wawa area. Come morning we were the only ones it seemed who had evidence of driving through the bad bits.

Today was a perfect day for travel - sunny and about 7 or 8 degrees without a cloud in the sky. We made pretty short work of the 8 hours from T-Bay to Winnipeg, only stopping for a prolonged amount of time in Dryden.

The Peg itself reminds me of the mockumentary 'Fubar' - it's kinda sketch. The first hotel we looked to stop at gave me some weird vibes for how safe my truck, trailer and gear would be in the parking lot overnight. I'm not going to lie - there is a lot of money sitting in the bed and on that trailer right now. I don't feel like having it ripped off.

We were debating staying there when a guy who works with CN came over to ask if we knew what the score was. He said that the Rail puts him up at that hotel often and that they usually have issues with theft. It's good to know that my Spidey Sense is up to snuff! With that we thanked him for the heads up and headed to the outskirts of town to find something on the up and up.

So now I'm sitting down after dinner thankful that my truck is in a nice, well-lit parking lot, right underneath my second floor room's window. Fingers crossed that everything is still there come morning.

I have to admit, I'm pretty excited to actually start this trip. So far all that we've really done is make a couple good pushes driving. The plan tomorrow is to leave the Peg early and roll into Saskatoon in the late afternoon. That way we can
The WatershedThe WatershedThe Watershed

I think this means we're getting north
get ourselves sorted, have a nice dinner and then find a spot to grab a drink or two. It will be Friday night, after all.

Then come Saturday we'll be seeing Al in Westlock, Alberta. Again that's another case of a shorter drive and more fun at the end of it. Can't wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Fleming's monumentFleming's monument
Fleming's monument

I think this means we're getting west
Cozy TruckCozy Truck
Cozy Truck

I have come to realize that my truck isn't quite so big. Also, I need to shave.


23rd October 2009

Great picture taking
glad to read the blog and know that things are going well - sounds like yesterday was an awesome day - here it rained and doing more of the same today. I hope the sunshine stays so you can enjoy the sites - they seem so much better in sun than rain. Take care, xxxx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb