Polar Bears


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Churchill
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had been researching this trip since I decided to move to Canada in early 2007, and it was the 1 trip I couldn't leave the country without doing. It was pricey, but absolutely a once in a lifetime trip.

We travelled from Vancouver to Winnipeg, and the following morning took an early flight to Churchill. Churchill cannot be accessed by road, so it was either fly or take the train. Although romantic, the train took a few days and was expensive.

My biggest fear, after not seeing the northern lights on a previous trip to Whitehorse was that we wouldn't see any bears. Saying that, on our way from the airport to the tundra we see 4 bears in the first 10 minutes. The day was amazing, the bears are everything you would imagine and the trip was totally noninvasive. I've been on whale watching trips where you chase the poor whales, but with this there was a lot of waiting for the bears to come to us. Overall we saw almost 30 bears in the 1 day, and then we went for a meal in Churchill. I think we had an exceptionally good day, so I wouldn't have needed more than 1 day on the Tundra. I would however have liked to spend a little bit more time to explore the town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb