Cabin Fever


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
July 30th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ahh, home at last. It was fantastic coming home...even if it was for only a week! And what a week it was. I had a chance to see most of my friends and lots of my family. My cousins Susan and Cathy flew in that week, along with my Aunty Donna. In fact, during one of my three airport visits in three days, I ran into Roo (the one I stayed with in London). How random is that?!? He was actually heading back to London after a two week visit home for some friends' weddings. I'm starting to think that I have this special talent of running into people I know regardless of where I am in the world. I can't wait to see who's in Peru 😉

Anyway, after stuffing myself all week due to the numerous breakfasts, lunches and dinners trying to play catch up with friends, I took off to Kinuso, Alberta on Saturday with my mom, my Aunt, Susan, and my Grandma. Kinuso? Where the heck is that? Well, that's what we all asked ourselves too. It's about 1/2 hour away from Slave Lake. My cousin moved up there awhile ago with her husband (RCMP) and
Cake Extraordinaire!Cake Extraordinaire!Cake Extraordinaire!

Here is the cake that Diana and Leanne made Norelle--pretty impressive!
their 1 year old daughter, which is why we were all heading up to Kinuso. We went to celebrate Norelle's 1st birthday. I also had a chance to see the newest addition to the family (from March): Claudia, my cousin Leanne's new daughter. With Susan pregnant right now, there's a bit of a baby boom in the family. It's sad that I'm not at that stage yet because it would be great if Susan's daughter was as close (in age and in relationship) with my children as Susan and I were growing up. I guess Susan will have to keep producing! Haha.

After Kinuso, the family headed back to the St. A. to have a baby shower for Susan's "Princess". Yup, knowing that this child will be spoiled beyond belief, we decided to go with it and have a Princess themed shower. I was very proud of my cookie platter shaped like a crown until Cathy went and ate a cookie before the guests arrived thinking that one looked "out of place" and not recognizing my beautiful artwork! She's lucky I forgave her. 😉 If Susan had to fly back to BC, she would have been in trouble because she was buried in gifts of diapers, onesies, dresses, and more pink than you could imagine by the end. Luckily, hearing Susan was heading to the Shuswaps after Edmonton, I decided to crash her visit to the Shuswaps and, thus, we borrowed my mom's car (as mine is lying on its death bed) and drove up there the day after the shower...with the numerous gifts in tow.

Our week in the Shuswaps was glorious because we did absolutely NOTHING. The nine hour drive wasn't even that bad either! It always helps when you have your best friend in the passenger seat and can fill the hours with random chit chat. We filled our time at the cabin with reading, eating, sleeping, swimming, tanning, and more eating and more sleeping. I think I had about 5 siestas my first day there! We stayed with Susan's family friends, the Taylors (Heather, in particular) at their beautiful (and newly improved) cabin. The three of us had a great time together and I had a chance to get through three books in four days. It was a nice break from the go, go, go I've been experiencing for the past few months.

Well, now I'm off to Peru. I was so smart and gave myself a one and a half day turnaround between getting back to Edmonton and having to be back in Calgary to catch my flight. Packing's been fun, as I've had to dig out winter stuff as it's winter in Peru and I've heard it reaches freezing temperatures at night. I'm actually looking forward to it; it's a nice break from the heatwave I've experienced for the past 7 months!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Three very relaxed girlsThree very relaxed girls
Three very relaxed girls

A world traveller, a 7 month pregnant teacher, and an MD who works way too many hours definitely deserved some cabin time.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb