Day Two - Lac La Hache to Chetwynd, BC


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
July 8th 2023
Published: July 9th 2023
Edit Blog Post

After a chilly night we woke early to get started on the longest leg of our trip. After a quick breakfast, we broke camp and continued east. I know, you're thinking, "But Alaska is northwest." We're heading over the Canadian Rocky Mountains to the official starting point of the Alcan Highway located in Dawson Creek, BC.

We took the lead again to start the leg and an hour down the road I realized I'd left my phone in the trailer. We were now relying solely on Mike's phone for communication as well as navigation. This is not good because his phone has been having issues connecting to the internet and we kinda need that to help us get from here to there. All was going smoothly for about half an hour when I screwed up while sending a text to our group chat about my phone. I'd accidentally tapped the wrong button and backed out of Google Maps one step too far and lost the connection. No matter how many times I tried, how or where I held the phone, or how his settings were configured, I wasn't getting that connection back. We eventually came to a rest area and used my forgetfulness and clumsiness to take a quick break.

Back on the road, this time with Teri and Dave leading the way. Yesterday we passed an A&W restaurant. I hadn't seen one of those in years! Teri and I agreed then that if we saw another today, we'd stop for lunch. By golly, there were several to choose from according to the A&W website! Our lunch was fabulous and the pups enjoyed being outside in the shade while we ate. A couple hours later it was time to find a new place to store the root beer. Now you're wondering why I keep talking about our pit stops. You agreed to this when you decided to follow along. When we stop to use the bathroom, so do you. But this one is more than just a pit stop, so stop rolling your eyes and keep reading.

The farther east we traveled, the more remote and wildernessy our surroundings became. Towns, villages, houses and farms were replaced one by one with evergreen trees, lakes and towering mountains. And a smoky haze in the distance due to the wildfires. Remote location = vault toilet ... but I had my hanitizer with me! As we were getting ready to leave I jumped in the trailer to get my nail file. I opened the door, climbed the stairs and went to slide the dining room slide out when I saw the ceiling light over the table had become a not-so-romantic pendant light. I immediately went back to the truck, opened the door and said, "Houston, we have a problem." As Mike made his way to the trailer to assess the situation, I walked up to Teri and Dave's truck and filled them in on what I'd found. They both immediately said, "Oh, we know what that's like." Dave followed me back to the rig to provide assistance if necessary. Of course it wasn't going to be an easy fix. To save time and frustration, Mike decided the best course of action would be to just cut the wires and deal with it later. I'm glad I wanted to grab my nail file. Who knows how bad it would have been if we hadn't discovered it until we got to camp. The fixture is now in timeout in the storage space under the bench on which I am sitting. It has joined the glass cover from our stove that rattled loose and bounced to the floor yesterday without breaking. It must have hit the area rugs we pile up in front of the stove while traveling.

See?!? I told you it was more than just another pit stop.

Continuing farther up into the Rockies and deeper into the wilderness of eastern British Columbia our fearless leaders finally saw a bear! We were able to see it as well. The young cub ran across the highway in front of them, although not as far ahead as the one we saw yesterday. They had to apply their brakes somewhat in order to allow it to get across safely. As I said before, I know nothing of judging a bear's age, but this one appeared to be smaller (therefore younger) than the one we saw yesterday. My guess is that it's a 2023 baby. Two bears in two days! In the wild, not in a zoo, or a national park from the safety of a designated viewing area; in its natural habitat. Well, except for the ribbon of asphalt running through it.

Eventually we crested the ridge and began our descent. At the top the mountains still towered high above us on both sides, it was just difficult to see them sometimes. The smoke was bad enough Mike turned off the air conditioner and we closed all the vents. It got a bit warm in the cab of the truck, but it was either sweat or breathe in fire smoke. I convinced Mike sweating was better.

In the eastern foothills lies our stop for the night. It's another older RV park right off the highway in need of lawn care, but we have full hook-ups and the manager was friendly and spoke with a lovely French-Canadian accent (or so I'm told as I was sitting in the truck with Charlie). The best part is free wi-fi ... for all our devices. Yay! Apparently it's not just right off the highway, but also very close to the railroad tracks. I know this because a train just went by!

It's nearing midnight. I need to upload today's pictures and head to bed. Another early departure time tomorrow. Not as long a drive, but still long.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb