Not leaving the Moutains yet!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We're on our final six week stretch with a town that I've become to love and hate all in same breath. It's a place that leaves me speechless with its extensive trails and hide-aways, all essentially in our backyard. But, it's also a place where I've seen myself loose my patience and cringe at the over the top manicured town that I've been calling home. That's exactly what it is though, it has become home. There are people here that I've known for a short time, but feel like I've known a life time. It's a town where playing is at the top of the list and working is there to pay the bills, feed the tummy and help contribute to the next big trip. Yeah, it's expensive here and we have sacrificed a lot, but it's really one of the coolest places to live, I think.
Soon enough though, we'll have our not so reliable Alpine Focus packed to the brim and be pulling out of this mountain town for the long road "home." That'll be a trip. We'll be actually spending enough time to remember how it was, or still is, before we left those years ago.
From there will be the next big adventure to Asia. So, stay connected and watch where the road takes us....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



24th October 2006

Yo Hippies!
What are you trying to do, make the NYC Folk Jump out our windows? God damn I wish I wasn't so Type A...I wish I was there chilling and enjoying myself. Gotta run...phone!
24th October 2006

A Big Hello From Downunder....
Hi Guy's, The pictures are amazing, the mountains have a magic all of there own. Glad to see you’re still exploring and continuing the world tour. I take it from your blog that you've stuck to your guns and are moving on from the legend they call Whistler. If so well done, there's plenty more to see……. Catherine & I have now swapped our backpacks and boots for shirt and tie, the joys of work are upon us once more. I start work in Sydney on the 30th Oct exact 1 year since we left England, where has the year gone? I hope you guy's can find the time to come visit, this place is pretty cool if your into sun, sea and general good living. There's a place for you to crash anytime, just give us the nod. By the way Paul & Yvon are in Australia looking for work, not hooked up yet but it's only a matter of time. We could all sit in a 4X4 for 3 days and cast our minds back...... Keep in touch. Cheers Paul & Catherine P.S - Davin, where's the beard?
25th October 2006

Aaahhh
Yes i know exactly what u mean about the alpine life. Vince and i are thinking of moving back to europe (specifically switzerland or annecy) when he finishes up his study. Would love to do a stint in your playground tho. U guys still gonna make it over our way soonish? big hugs!!!! Liv xx oo

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb