Zip lining


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
May 16th 2016
Published: May 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So got up early this morning and it's safe to say I was not looking forward to this mornings 'adventure' activity... Zipping with Ziptrek Eco Tours. They have three tours available. The bear tour, eagle tour and the Sasquatch. The bear tour was the easiest and lowest. I had booked this weeks ago as a present for Stephs 30th birthday for us both despite the fact it's well known I'm petrified of heights (thanks dad!). We checked in early about 9.15 and signed our life away again with the waiver and got weighed so they knew which equipment and harness to use. We then had half an hour until we had to meet at 10am to get the minibus up Blackcomb Mountain to the base of the trek to the zip lines. We went to the meeting point and then saw loads of people looking in the direction of the ski slopes. There was a bear literally no more than 30 metres from Whistler village on the ski slope in full view of everyone! Everyone in the vicinity was snapping away on their cameras and phones getting pictures!

I should probably mention that I have no shame admitting I spent at least 30mins at the hotel trying to psych myself up for it including a few tears. I was genuinely petrified. I'd done lots of research reading the reviews and watching the you tube videos to ensure I could actually go through with it. I only booked the tour in a moment of madness weeks earlier and because Steph really wanted to do 'something crazy' for her 30th. I realised on the bus trip up that I had focussed so much on the zip lines that I forgot I had to get up to the take off points on the platforms high up in the trees. Luckily it became obvious pretty quickly that there were two others in our group who were nervous and didn't like heights. This made me feel loads better!

We got out the minibus and walked uphill to the first set of steps up to the first platform. We had two guides, Max from Sydney Australia and Kat from Manchester England and there was a couple and two girl friends who made up our group. At the first platform which was quite high the one guide went off ahead zipping down to the other end to set up the brake to stop us when we zipped down. The other guide asked who was going first. Everyone stayed quiet and I though screw it and volunteered. I knew I'd only get more nervous waiting around for my turn so decided to go first. They set up the safety equipment and within a min or two I was off! It wasn't too high or too long and i quite enjoyed it flying through the air and felt totally safe. In fact I felt more unsafe on the platforms. Once I reached the other end there were some steps upwards to the platform. The guide braked you so you didn't have to do anything and they pulled you up safely to the platform. I got off and waited for Steph who was next to come across. She loved it. We then had to wait for the other four. It became apparent two of the other girls didn't really like the zip wire bit and were a lot better once they reached the end. Soon enough everyone was across.

We then went up to the second zip wire. Along the way we went to a platform high in the trees and it was wobbling. I didn't like it very much. Part of the you included some information about the natural habitat snd area. To be honest I don't remember much of it. I was too busy concentrating on where the next zip line was and how high. There was a suspension bridge across to another platform overlooking the creek. The guides told people to make their way across but as it was optional I refused and waited behind while they gave some talk about the trees etc!

The second zip line was good although higher going across a creek. Again I went first. I knew the third and fourth ones were the worst from the reviews for height so was a bit nervous making our way up to those platforms. Again I went off first although I was scared holding on before jumping off. Again the feeling was great whizzing through the air. Luckily on both these the end platforms were built right on the ground and not high up a tree! Steph let go completely on the fourth one going hands free. We got ready for the fifth and last zip line where I had the go pro to film some footage of me zip lining across. It's typical this footage doesn't seem to show exactly how high up we were! The guides wanted people to have a go going upside down on this zip line and showed us how to do it. I told them there was no way I was doing it and in the end no one managed it. I did however manage to go hands free! One of the other girls managed to let one hand go and was really pleased with herself!! Once everyone had finished we got back on the bus and went back down to the village handing over the helmets and harnesses. We walked away feeling pleased with ourselves!

By this time it was about 12.30 and we had nothing planned for the rest of the day so we stopped off for brunch and then went back to the hotel. We spotted the outside hot tub was free so after a tiny nap went down and had a nice jacuzzi before a little sunbath to dry ourselves out. Who would have thought we would be sunbathing in Whistler! We've bought ski jackets with us but hopefully they should get some use later on. After the hot tub we got changed and went for a wander through the village and ended up in the upper village where we ordered a pitcher of beer and sat drinking away watching the snowboarders and skiers come down on the mountain on the ski lifts. This drink ended up being the first of many and we ended up having some cocktails and more beer. It was the first time we felt we had, had chance to properly relax on holiday with nothing planned for those few hours. We went to the Mongoli Grill for dinner where you create your own stirfry. You grab a bowl then put whatever veg and meat and sauces you wanting the bowl. They weigh the bowl and you are charged by weight. It was $19.95 per pound. Vegetarians got a 20% discount so Steph was happy and filled her bowl right up. She'd never been to a Mongolian before as they aren't normally veggie friendly but this place cleaned her section of the grill and used different utensils. There was lots of choice of noodles tofu and different vegetables which she could pick. This was probably the first time her meal cost more than mine even with the 20% discount!! After the meal we were a little tipsy and headed to another bar for more beer. It was getting pretty chilly by now but luckily the bars have heaters outside and free blankets to use to put over your legs to keep warm.

After the last beer we headed back to the hotel even though it was still earlyish about 9pm as it was getting cold. We stopped off along the way to take some photos at the Olympic Rings statue before getting an early night. We had planned to pack before going to bed as our room is a tip with clothes all over the place but we thought sod it til the morning. Although now it's morning with me finishing the blog and I'm looking at it all wishing I'd done mine last night! Anyway so that's Whistler, we head off north today to a little town called Clinton on the way up to Jasper and are planning on a couple of stops along the way. It's about 150 miles and should take us 3-4 hours driving.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb