Whistler, Canada - Skiing


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 15th 2013
Published: January 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Whistler and BlackcombWhistler and BlackcombWhistler and Blackcomb

Beautiful skiing area
We have been skiing here for four days now, and it is fantastic! The only down side is the eight hours time difference - we haven't got to grips with it and keep falling asleep and napping as soon as we get in our room!

It is a really good ski resort, and can match Europe easy. It is far less crowded than the skiing in Europe that we have done, and everyone here is sooo polite and friendly. What we have found strange though is that all the restaurant staff and ski lift attendants are Australian!!

The ski slopes are colour coded green easy, blue more difficult and black hard. Some blues are harder than others, so a red in between blue and black would be handy.

I had my scariest fall on day one on an easy green run. It was a flat but narrow trail and I managed not only to fall, but slid over the edge - my worst nightmare! It was a steep sided tree lined ravine. Fortunately the snow down the side was about 6ft deep so I just sunk into it like a stone and didn't slide any further down the
DerekDerekDerek

Nice hat!
side. I was stuck though in deep snow down a steep side with trees below. Derek had been ahead of me and didn't see me go over, and no-one else was around, so I was on my own. Luckily, my skiis didn't come off, or I never would have recovered them. So I very carefully took off my skiis and threw them back up the side, and dragged myself up. By the time I had crawled back up the side Derek had realised I wasn't with him anymore, and he had walked back up to where I was just in time to see me come back over the edge onto the trail. Makes you take stock a bit!

Derek's only fall has been when a snowboarder took him out! She got some snow on her goggles and got distracted!

I have to admit to two more falls on steep pistes where I came down on my back! Luckily for me I'm a slow skier, so I don't tend to bang anything, I just look and feel stupid.

All that said the skiing is wonderful, and we're having a great time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Mountain ViewsMountain Views
Mountain Views

Great skiing
Friendly birdiesFriendly birdies
Friendly birdies

Can you see the bird on the ski?
A bird in the hand..A bird in the hand..
A bird in the hand..

We had some sarnies to share...
Feeding the birdsFeeding the birds
Feeding the birds

Not sure what type of birds these are, look like big fat sparrows!
Sunny skiingSunny skiing
Sunny skiing

Another great view on the slopes
Derek is the dotDerek is the dot
Derek is the dot

Lots of tree lined skiing
DerekDerek
Derek

Easy skiing
Above the cloudsAbove the clouds
Above the clouds

Lower down is a bit cloudy, high up is bright and sunny
As usual...As usual...
As usual...

I fall over a lot...
Whistler mountainWhistler mountain
Whistler mountain

7th Heaven lift station
Whistler VillageWhistler Village
Whistler Village

A pretty brook
In the outside pool!In the outside pool!
In the outside pool!

You wouldn't believe me otherwise!
Whistler is black bear countryWhistler is black bear country
Whistler is black bear country

Fortunately the bears are all hybernating at the moment.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb