Winding down


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 24th 2010
Published: February 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, the games are winding down, and I can't believe that this journey is nearly at an end.

Highlights this week: Kinesio taping course last night, lunch in the athlete's dining tent today (difficult to close my jaw at all!), seeing the Fray at the medals ceremony, Canada's spirit defined by its figure skaters (I have cried more at this Olympics than from watching any other), mad networking for future employment, and the anticipation of the gold medal hockey game/Blue Rodeo that's coming up on the weekend.

While some of this experience has been frustrating, I am trying to hold onto the wonder of it all and not get caught up in the politics and egos that seem to be flying around. Working at the Polyclinic has been a real eye-opener, and I hope that I don't soon forget the lessons I've learned, nor the amazing people I've met from almost every medical profession. I feel quite proud to call myself part of the Med Team for these Games.

Am off to watch the Women's Bobsleigh final tonight at the sliding centre. I was there last week during the qualifying for the men's when Canada's sled flipped, and let me tell you the mood in that place changed in the space of one heartbeat. Being here has re-introduced me to that mass mentality you get when cheering for your country along with thousands of others. There's nothing like it, I'd almost say it's addictive.

Watch for me on TV tonight, I'll be the one wrapped in the Maple Leaf and crying if we get the gold.

S

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb