Puppies in the snow!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
May 28th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Vancouver I headed North along the stunning Sea-to-Sky highway to Whistler. Arriving at the Southside Hostel in Whistler Creek I immediately found myself some drinking buddies in the form of Susanne (Stuttgart), Steve (NYC) and Andy (UK), it was a Monday night after all! A crazy night ensued thanks to 80s night at Tommy Africa's which led to a late-start Tuesday.... not much of a problem as it was raining outside 😞

Ever hopeful I donned my sunnies and suncream and set off along the valley trail towards the village. I passed by lakes and through the trees and every so often the sun would shine and the birds would sing. Arriving at the village I explored but decided against heading up the mountain as it was surrounded in cloud. I headed to the cute Beetroot Cafe for a most scrummy lunch - a mango chicken curry wrap and a steaming hot chai, just what I needed on a chilly, half miserable day.

The afternoon I spent walking out to Lost Lake, which I found, in between raindrops. It was picturesque and peaceful and the clean air did wonders for my ever present sniffles. That evening it was soup and toast on the menu, and then tucking up with Flight of the Concords, fingers crossed for some sunshine!

I woke Wednesday to a stellar day, and walked the trail by the lakes again up to the Village. There I jumped on the gondola and took a 22 minute ride up Whistler mountain, taking in the amazing views of the village and valley below. At the top I spent hours just staring at all the snow-covered mountains around me, skiers and snowboarders zipping past and making the most of the spring snowfall.

On the way down I met a very friendly local who progressed from complementing my hoody, to offering to put my name on the guest list at a club that evening, to proposing marriage in a matter of minutes. It was perhaps the most unique gondola ride I've ever experienced. He did spot me a bear though!

Thursday was by far the highlight of my time in Whistler. Up early, I headed up the mountain to meet the team at Whistler Dogsledding. Funnily enough the main guide, Campbell, was a friend of Caitlin's from back home... I gotta get me his job! I spent hours playing with the pups and went for a quick jaunt on the sled - it was awesome!! My favourite pups were Muffin & Licorice... but all too soon it was time to go and so I had to say a sad farewell to the pups and Whistler.

I dozed on the ride down, though the scenery was no less spectacular second-time around. Back in Vancouver I returned to the ever hospitable Tim & Emma's to clean up & pack up in preparation for my trip into the interior leaving Saturday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb