World Bobsleigh


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 7th 2009
Published: February 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I failed miserably on the buying new ski clothes front, but Dave and I (plus Greg, Kerry, Tiarnan, Mark and Alan) did manage to head up to the Whistler Sliding Centre to see the World Cup 4-man bob competition on Saturday. This was seen as a dry run for the Olympics next year so the organisers were obviously keen that everything went well. If the first hurdle was adequate attendance then they flew over that one - all tickets were sold out in advance.

One of the things the organisers wanted to try out was the security arrangements for the venue... However, we didn't expect that this would involve voluntary security screening! Surely they would have been better making it mandatory - no-one would have thought it odd I'm sure, given what we're all used to at airports and sports stadiums... Let's face it, it would have been a pretty stupid terrorist who went down the voluntary security queue! Something else to put down as uniquely Canadian 😊

Once into the venue we were free to wander around at will. The hosts dotted around the place were very helpful in pointing us up the course, all saying that it was worth the trek to the top. We wandered around the main area for a while - a huge horseshoe of track which wound clockwise round the arena and uphill again after the finish line - and watched the first few runners come through. The speeds they reach are incredible and it's a pretty impressive sight to see (and hear) them hurtle through the finish and slam on the brakes.

In time we did head uphill, pausing a few times en route to watch the action (and secretly have a breather!). I'm not sure why, but I was surprised at how steeply uphill we had to go - I guess it makes sense that the course is downhill, but somehow the TV never really captures it very well! Anyway, we timed our move uphill particularly badly as no sooner had we reached the start than the first round was over. So a 20 minute wait before any more action. Ah well, never mind.

I was rather disappointed with the start area once action resumed. Not a huge number of people up there, but fewer suitable places to actually see the starts. The best action I saw there was probably the view into
Latvia IILatvia IILatvia II

All 4 walked away from this one without injury
the changing room across the track 😉. I hung around for a while and saw a bit, but then headed back downhill (down the treacherous ice-covered path which comprised the final section of the climb) to watch the competition unfold from the main arena.

The crowd was a pretty lively bunch, especially when Canada I took the lead with about 3 teams still to come. A great atmosphere... until Canada got knocked off the top spot by Russia I. Oh dear. Still, they were in with a chance of silver? Nope, USA I came down and knocked Russia off top spot, pushing Canada to bronze medal slot. The crowd were getting a bit quiet now. Then the last team set off - Latvia I. Their second team had crashed out in round 1 in scenes reminiscent of Cool Runnings, so this was their only chance. We were watching every turn on the big screen. At each checkpoint they were getting faster. Then we heard the rumble... at which point the live action took over. As they crossed the line I think everyone's heart was in their mouths, but the Latvians had done it! At that point I'm not sure I
Latvia IILatvia IILatvia II

The sled wasn't so lucky
made any friends - I inadvertently cheered because it was an exciting race and the Latvians had knocked the Americans off the top spot, when of course almost everyone else was upset that the Canadians had been dropped from a medal position. Oops.

With the result decided against them, the primarily Canadian crowd started a mass exodus. The TV presenter made a valiant effort to make the upcoming medals ceremony seem interesting but the mood had gone so we headed off as well. I guess the Olympics will be slightly different as the crowd will be more multinational - I hope so, otherwise the athletes will go rather unappreciated!

So, a good evening out in all and well worth the $5 entrance fee. I guess my major recommendation to VANOC for next year would be to improve the access to the start area (i.e. clear the path of ice so that people aren't sliding all over the place) and also to find a way to make viewing at the start much easier. It's all very well encouraging people up there, but if they can't see anything when they get there they'll not appreciate it.

A quick note for those who don't know - VANOC is the Vancouver Olympic Committee. The longer I live here, and the more I read the local press, the more indignant (and Whistlerite!) I get about their frequent mishandling of the organisation for 2010. The list of errors is long and I won't bore you here, but I really hope we'll avoid many of these pitfalls for 2012...

P.S. No sign of the Jamaicans I'm afraid! Although I am on the lookout as I hear they're training in these parts in time for next year...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me at the bobsleighMe at the bobsleigh
Me at the bobsleigh

Not photoshopped! Dave actually managed to catch the sled in the background. Although we did get told off for flash photography... oops


Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb