Day 3: Getting a feel for it


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
January 23rd 2012
Published: January 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Nearly 10pm

This entry will be considerably shorter then the last I would think. I'll start be describing where I am.

My hostel is very small and old. That doesn't bother me the slightest, though. It's more so that people tend to keep to themselves too much, they stay in their rooms and just don't mingle. I've only really met a few annoying people so far, but I think if I put myself out there a bit more then i will be alright. It turns out that I do live in a rough part of town. A few blocks down the road is Hastings St, which is absolutely packed during night-time (picture Mitchell Street in Darwin at 2am or the front of Flinders St Station) with hobos, crackheads, beggars, whatever you want. It's not so bad up where I am, but it still doesn't feel the safest even though it's fine. A bit further past Hastings is Water St in Gastown. On the corner of that and Main St (where i am) is Deacon's Corner, a nice diner that I've been to both days. Think of the word "diner" and you picture those places in the movies, it's just like that. Yesterday, I had a sandwich with corned beef, cheese and sauerkraut on rye bread (which was as dark as coffee). It was absolutely beautiful. Tonight I walked down Water St on my way to The Lookout (the observation deck), mainly to avoid the bums, and it was soooo pretty. The reason it is called Gastown is because it still uses the gas lanterns to light the street. The road is still red brick and the trees that line the street have fairy lights in them. It's easily my favourite thing so far. I'm virtually in Chinatown, which is an actual district as opposed to a street like in Melbourne. I'll take a better look tomorrow but it's probably not worth it until I get some cash.

Yesterday I went for a 3.5 hour walk around town. It was only that long because I took my sweet time. I probably found places that I wouldn't have otherwise. I found a store wher you can buy frsh fruit and veg or a slad to eat straight away. I bought some bananas for 1.79/kg which I tought was alright. Food (particularly take-away) seems cheap. I woke up at 2.30pm so it was a pretty short day.

Today was a little more exciting. I started by going to the bank to open a keycard account. It turns out I needed a phone number and address as well as my 2 points of ID. So after my visit to the diner I went to The Lookout. Once I figured out how to zoom the camera, I took some nice pics. On a clear day I think the view would be amazing but apparently Vancouver doesn't get a lot of them during winter. I can't wait until we get one because I think the view of the Northshore mountains would be amazing. I got talking to a Welsh girl who worked there who gave me some very handy tips as a backpacker. After that I headed to the post office and set up a PO box. My address is 349 West Georgia Street, PO Box 2340, Vancouver BC, V6B 3W5. I've got 3 months rent on that one. I also got a mobile phone as well. The rates are pretty good as long as nobody overseas calls me!! Texting is fine. My number is 604-726-0196. I don't know what the country code is yet so I'll have to find out. Back to the bank and I was told that I needed a residential address. Unlucky! She would've called me but, of course, I didn't have a number. It was there I had realised I lost my wallet. I walked the same route back to the post office and saw nothing and nothing had been handed in. I gave in by that point but I may check some shops along there tomorrow. I've locked my money card and have a back up which is handy but I need the stinking CBA to answer my email and cancel my credit card. I also only had $30 cash so I'm in good spirits. At 6pm I went back to The Lookout to see the view at night-time, because I could with the same ticket. BC Place, which is the biggest stadium in Vancouver, looked amazing at night. Even better than AAMI Park in Melbourne. After that i walked along Granville St, which is the main street with all the pubs and what-not. I'll be moving there on the weekend, depending on money. Then it was back along the beautiful Water St and back to the hostel to do this.

Now that money is tight I will start living like a real backpacker. It will be bread, butter, fruit and juice until at least the weekend. Iwould upload some photos but my laptop is not picking up the camera....not good.

Til next time!!

Advertisement



26th January 2012

Hey! How are You Doing?
How are you getting by without your wallet and its contents? I just stumbled across your blog. If things get desperate, you can contact me through Travel Blog. Happy Trails! ImaHeadaU Vancouver
11th February 2012

thanks so much!
i know im a bit late but i thought i should say thank you for your help/concern. i dont know if u read the next entry but somebody actually picked my wallet up in the street and returned it to my hostel 2 days later. it still had everything in it including a receipt from when i checked into my hostel, which how he found me :) happy days
16th February 2012

You're Welcome
Yes, I read that your wallet had been returned. I stumbled upon your Blog while checking out what visitors were saying about Vancouver. You seem to be enjoying yourself. Happy Trails! ImaHeadaU Vancouver, B.C., Canada

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb