Vancouver Day 2


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
July 11th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This day started out with me meeting Meg at Starbucks and then us taking the skytrain to her place to drop off my stuff, as I'd be staying with her for a few days. We then made it back to Downtown, where we looked around the harbour/Canada Place and then caught the Trolley Tour around Stanley Park.

We were able to do the tour free with a pass that Dana gave us, otherwise I don't know if the trolley would have been really worth it. It was nice to learn a bit of info (that even Meg having lived here for a few years didn't know) but it's also SUPER easy to walk everywhere in the city.

We got off the trolley and enjoyed fish and chips at a place in the park. The park was lovely. On our tour, we were surprised to learn that Stanley Park is actually bigger than Central Park in NYC! I immediately decided that I'd need to go back to the park and spend a full day or two exploring the area.

After the park, Meg and I went our separate ways, as she had to work and I planned on visiting Granville Island's market and then was heading to take a hot yoga class with my friend Monique, with whom I'd worked with at Centauri.

With my day pass for Vancouver transit ($9), I was able to take a bus across very easily to the island, and check things out. There was a busker performing juggling and comedy that was kind of fun. There were also tons and tons of vendors selling fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, crafts, etc. It reminded me a lot of St. Jacob's market.

I enjoyed some sushi outside on a bench by the water and then was off to find the yoga studio.

Again, it was easy to find (thank goodness for the Vancouver travel book I bought that has maps of every area in the city!) and it was SO good to see Mo! We caught up a bit and I asked her what to expect in the class. I'd done yoga but never hot yoga. She said it would feel pretty hot and I would probably sweat more than I'd ever imagined. Sure enough, this is what happened. 😊

It was definitely hot but not overwhelming. I did sweat A LOT but had a towel and we were given frequent water breaks. It was fun with Mo too, as I'd taken classes with her before at camp, so this just added a hot room! It felt SO good to sweat and think about nothing other than breathing! I can definitely see how people would get addicted to this!

A shower and bus then skytrain ride later, I was back at Meg's to sleep, and looking forward to a day at the Aquarium with Dana!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb