Vancouver Day 3: Aquarium


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My original thought was that I'd spend the day at the aquarium AND the park, but that was not the case, as I spent almost the entire day at the Aquarium!

Since Dana works there, she was able to get me signed into the guest book and it was free for me to enter. Dana met me at the front lobby and walked me through to her "wet lab", which is where she spends most of her time. The wet lab is open to private groups and occasionally the general public but it was closed off to only Dana and I that morning!

Dana showed me all the different animals they had in the lab. My favourite was when she showed me the anemones and told me to touch them. Having watched "Finding Nemo", I knew that they sting the fish so I was worried that they were going to sting me. Dana wouldn't tell me how it would feel. She promised it wouldn't hurt but I was still nervous. It wasn't until she told me it felt sticky like glue that I finally touched it. Crazy how they sense you and cling on to you.

I also was able to touch sea stars (starfish), a sea cucumber, and crabs. My favourite thing was the barnacles though. They are so funny looking! It's amazing to think that all of the things in the lab were living, even if they didn't seem to be.

I then left Dana to some paperwork as I toured around on my own. We did meet back up at one point for lunch in the park, but by the end of the day I had seen the dolphin show, beluga show, shark feeding, birds of prey show, and all the exhibits. I loved the tropics section, as I recognized a bunch of the fish and birds and such.

Dana and I then walked to her apartment and met up with her boyfriend Nick, and Meg, and went out for dinner. We got sushi and then sat down on a nearby beach to eat. Such a great idea! I'd like to say it was warm, but it's been much colder here than I'd anticipated. High of 19 or 20 and lows of 11 or 12. It's been pants and long sleeves for me! That didn't stop us from going and getting some yummy gelato though!

We then walked Dana and Nick back home and caught a bus to Meg's place. Yet another enjoyable day in Vancouver!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.1kb