This campus is HUGE & I have friends


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour,

UBC is a very large university! Today the tour was an hour and twenty minutes - long but well worth it to get my bearings. So to start things off here is a nice itinerary of what I have been up to today:


1. Woke up @ 6:22am and decided to explore downtown Vancouver to buy some things that I needed (towel, utensils, etc)

2. Found myself downtown in Vancouver for 3 hours wandering the streets (the bus ride down was amazing, so very beautiful - I love
seeing the mountains everywhere I look) looking for either a Walmart or a Zellers - This was very unsuccesful. Everyone that I
asked looked at me as though I had a few too many heads as most of the area is very posh and expensive. They suggested trying
the subberbs....so I found a dollar store and then wandered around to a shoppers drug mart and a sears. Vancouver is expensive.

3. I found a Tim Hortons (finally - as the rest of the corners are plastered with Starbucks) and Jos I guess there is no more
complaining about the price of the coffee for 1.45 in Toronto as the one here was 1.53. I was shocked. I thought that I may enjoy
living here someday but it is very expensive (and as everyone knows I am definitely an "economically efficient" type of gal.

4. I wandered back down to UBC and signed in with the program officially, recieved a package for the week's plans and met 3 new
friends on a tour of the campus. We all had lunch together, walked to the village (a place with many little stores and ammenities),
had dinner and went to the grocery store.

5. EXHAUSTED. Just using the internet now to catch up as my room is having some tech problems with the internet so I have to come
out to the main lobby which is not far at all.

6. Tomorrow is the first morning of classes, we have a testing that is going to decide where we are in our language ability and then
some classes in the afternoon. After that we are going on a cruise (Jos - I never thought I'd be on a boat....). I am very excited and
looking forward to meet some more people.


7. Love ya all and thanks for checking up on me 😊


xoxo
Kerri



Advertisement



20th May 2009

Kerri, it's great to follow your blogs...sounds like a wonderful experience so far. Van IS a beautiful, expensive place. Enjoy!!
21st May 2009

Mountains, eh?
Dear Walmart fan, So...you, like....like mountains, eh?...like check out this, like, website, like http://www.icefieldsparkway.ca/ and like, mouseover the like, red dots....and you'll, like, see mountains for real man! Like, ya GOTTA go, like, THERE, too! Woot! Woot! Like,...Sincerely, Avec LaWein

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb