Story at 5: Woman Stalks Small Child With Quatchi


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
July 10th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes, it is true, I am the stalker!! So this is the saga. I am in Vancouver, traveling around the city with my friend Lawrence, and I tell him about this place I have heard about that has not 31 flavors, but 218 flavors of gelato!! It's true and factual! So we make an extensive trek, not because it is far, but because we encounter one of the most unhelpful people here in Canada. Actually he might be the only unhelpful one, as people in Canada are exceptionally nice (see Nicki, I have found my place!!). Super uber nice...it's unbelievable how nice they are! Anyway, I digress....

So we made the three hour tour to the gelato place, the place that has 218 flavors...and I am super excited to be there. So we go on a flavor tasting extravaganza! We sampled flavors like garlic, balsamic vinegar, and wasabi (yes mom, I know this would be your favorite!). After an extensive tasting venture we chose our flavors. I opted for rice and chocolate chili. After giving my cone a few licks, I stopped in my tracks...there he was Quatchi!!

Now, I am sure you are asking yourself, who is Quatchi. Well funny you should ask, because I am uber informed about all things Quatchi. He, you see, is one of the mascots for the upcoming 2010 Olympics and I have become mildly (ha!) obsessed with the characters during my stay here (to torture Lawrence). Quatchi is a young Sasquatch who lives in the forest and he loves hockey. While he is shy he loves to travel to new places and make new friends. He's hard not to like (even though Lawrence thinks he's creepy). He has a friend named Miga who is a seabear. She lives in the ocean with her "family pod." And my favorite, Sumi, is an Animal Spirit. He wears the hat of an ocra whale, flies with wings of a thunderbird, and has furry legs of the black bear. And I think they are super cute. Weird but true.

So here we are enjoying our ice cream when I stop in my tracks, passing over my dripping cone to Lawrence, to stalk this poor young boy with a Quatchi. After a few attempts of trying to obtain his photo sans permission I gave up and asked him politely. He kindly agreed, while the rest of his family chuckled. Yes, it is true...I think I need help. Unfortunately the Olympic committee wants to subsidize the entire Olympics with a sole purchase of one of the adorable mascots, so unfortunately after my upcoming hefty purchase (a new car!! 😊 I will be unable to purchase Quatchi, Miga, and Sumi...so they must remain in Vancouver. Tragic I know.... C'est la vie.

And thus concludes our saga... Perhaps some day I will finally update my photos. For now my only update is my blog photo, which was taken a couple weeks ago in D.C. (sorry Fitch, it's sans you)...thanks to Lawrence and Fitch for the fun I had there.

Until the next adventure!

Hope your summer is treating you well!

Advertisement



11th July 2008

After the Olumpics..Quatchi, Miga & Sumi will be on SALE
Relax Wendy - Once the "event" is over in China the adorable/creepy creatures will probably go on sale.. maybe even ebay... at a discount. Congrats on the new car. What kind of language influenced the naming of those Olympic creatures? Canadian eskimos? Good Traveling!
15th July 2008

oh...
So that's where you've been!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb