Last day in Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » YVR
December 6th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The morning of my last day. I had booked a trip to watch orcas in the wild. For me this was the most exciting bit of my stay, and I was so glad that it had worked out this way. I would leave Canada on a real high; that is if I saw them. I knew there were no guarantees, unlike Telegraph Cove, which was not too far from Port Hardy, but far enough to have made it impossible to see them when I was there.
Before I left the hostel I met an amazing lady. She was Irish, aged 64, and had lived in Vancouver for many years. She had then moved to the USA, and had a serious car accident shortly after she moved. She was forced out of her job, as the company made it very difficult for her, and did not like the fact that her medical expenses were being paid for by them. Despite this she had stayed in the US, and eventually got other work. Twenty years later she contracted MS as a result of her accident. She is now uninsurable, and is hoping that she can continue to work until she is entitled to medical care at 65. The amazing thing was that she was not bitter or angry. She just told me how it was. It also made me realise that no matter how much we Brits criticise our own country, we should always be thankful that we have the NHS, and that no one would be denied treatment for a crippling disease because they weren't insured. She also confirmed the fact that this was the best place to stay in Vancouver; if you ever go, stay at Jericho Beach!

Anyway, on with my orca trip. I got the shuttle bus to Steveston. I was trying to prepare myself for disappointment, without much success. We met the morning group returning from their trip, and although they had seen orcas, it was from a great distance and not for long. Steveston was an interesting little place. It used to be called the Japanese town, as all the residents were japanese employees in the canneries in the 1920's and 30's. These people were imprisoned during WW2, and in 1994 they were eventually compensated. Now it is one of the richest towns in Canada!

We boarded our very fast boat. Very soon the crew were getting reports of sightings closer in than usual. The scenery around us was stunning, and we passed seals, and bald eagles. But all we wanted to see were orcas.
And then we did. Close and for as long as we could have hoped for. When you see them and take photos you think of nothing else. The rush of adrenaline I got is probably what other people experience on fair rides. It's the best.

There were about seven of them. They belonged to pod J, and Ruffles was the leader. They were residents, and were busy feeding on salmon. Let the photos speak for themselves.




I returned to Vancouver on a complete high. As i didn't feel like eating I went straight back to the hostel, packed, and went down to the cafe for a final glass of wine. As I approached the cafe I saw a familiar face, staring intently at the noticeboard: it was Colin, who I had last seen in Port Hardy!
We each recounted our stories- he had cycled through Vancouver Island ( only 300 miles) and then his tent had given up. He had come back to buy a new one and prepare to meet his friend who was coming over from the UK. He loved my pictures, and he was so pleased to hear that I had had such a great time. It was like meeting an old friend, and it seemed to round off my holiday in a meant to be way.

So that's it. My Canada experience over. I got an e- mail from Colin, wishing me well back at work. I found out more than two months later that Colin died a few days after I left Vancouver. I don't know how it happened, but I do know that he touched many people's lives during his travels in Canada. May he rest in peace.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

our boatour boat
our boat

so how did I take the picture?


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb