Vancouver Island


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island
September 14th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday September 10, 2011
Ferries All Night And All Day Long

The ferry went well last night. The waters were fairly calm so I did not get nauseous like last time. I watched movies till late and then slept a bit but not long. The ferry got into Prince Rupert at 5 am.
The ferry to Port Hardy loaded at about 6:30 am.
Things were quite foggy first thing in the morning. But the fog lifted quickly and we had sunny weather for the better part of the whole day. No rain at all today. The view is nice enough; lots of mountains and trees. There were a few Killer Whales spotted but not a lot of action just the odd fin raised out of the water.

I have been a little sleepy with almost no sleep last night. I spent the foggy part of the morning watching movies. I spent the warmest part of the day out on the deck taking in the view. Later in the day I took the view from inside while I watched movies.

The ferry is scheduled to dock at around 10:30 pm. I will grab a campsite in town so I can get supplies tomorrow as I am pretty much out of everything. I had planned to get supplies in Prince Rupert if I had been stuck in a layover; but that was not the case being able to get right on the Port Hardy ferry.


Sunday September 11, 2011

Do you remember where you were 10 years ago today?

I woke up to fog but it had not rained that night before. I also woke up rather tired from lack of sleep the night before. I rode into Port Hardy to pick up supplies and lunch. I got a late start but by the time I was on the go the weather was nice and sunny. I rode as quickly as I could to Port McNeill as I was told about a bike shop in that town. The store turned out to be closed for Sunday.

The day was a good day for riding and the riding was not too difficult. I rode 85 km’s today and camped just off a logging road.


Monday September 12, 2011

What a hot sunny day today. This is the fourth day in a row that I have had no rain and only sun. It only took getting to September to get four days. It was hot too.

Today had a few bigger climbs and some nice long down hills. I rode to Sayward (junction). I decided to get a camping spot because I was a little desperate for a shower. The campground at the junction is neat and clean. They have an indoor lounge with a TV. I stayed up quite late updating my blog. There is a TV in the lounge; I mostly watched the news. I see not much has changed in the world and Canada since my ride started; everything is bleak. I am pretty sure I did 95 km’s today.


Tuesday September 13, 2011

The sky is cloudy today; in fact I never even seen the sun once today. But I never got wet either. I woke up sleepy after going to bed so late. I got a late start also; I wanted to give my bike a wipe down. My bike was looking a little dirty from Rennell Sound (on Queen Charlotte Island) and I needed to visit a bike shop today. There were some big climbs getting past Sayward. Once I hit Campbell River the road smoothed out though.

Traffic has steadily been on the increase as I move south down the island. So far there are mostly no paved shoulders on this highway or the shoulders are in rough shape. I have stopped in a bike shop and had a tune up, replaced my back tire and replaced my back brake pads. My bike chain is still good.

I am leaving the main island highway and taking the Ocean Side Route. This is the scenic route and has a paved shoulder. The traffic is unbelievably busy. Campbell River seems to have a vision for the harbour and water front and the area is reasonably nice.

I found a place to camp outside of town. This was not easy though as most all of this area is built up along the road and ocean. I found a large undeveloped parcel of land to camp on. I only did about 70 km’s today due to a late start and my bike tune up. Not to mention how early it gets dark now.


Wednesday September 14, 2011

I did not sleep right last night and woke up with a sore back and a kink in my neck. Again it is cloudy but the clouds seem to be moving on and blue sky is available. Traffic continues to be very heavy. I am not use to this. The Oceanside Route leaving Campbell River to Courtenay takes you away from the coast for this part of the highway. I rode into Courtenay to inquire about a bunch of ferry’s that take you to and connect you along the main land coast. This area is known as “The Sunshine Coast”.

I have decided to ferry to Powell River on the mainland. This area is connected by ferry’s that eventually get you to the City of Vancouver. From Vancouver I will have to take a ferry to Nanaimo to continue my ride on Vancouver Island. I don’t think I will be disappointed by this route.

I won’t get too far today; maybe 45 km’s. By the time I grabbed lunch and found the Info Center; got my information on “The Sunshine Coast” I had just missed my ferry across. Next ferry at 7:15 pm.

I didn’t realize how long this ferry was. The guy said it was about 1 hour and 20 minutes. That puts me in Powell River after dark. As the ferry docked I asked a local about any place to camp. He said a few kilometers out of town was a place known as Myrtle Rocks. So in the dark I rode and found Myrtle Rocks along the ocean. I had a heck of a time falling sleep tonight. I am becoming preoccupied about the future once this ride comes to an end and I find myself become homesick for home (Belize).



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Broughton Strait Broughton Strait
Broughton Strait

View of of the main land across the strait
The Highway The Highway
The Highway

Thought this was a neat part of the highway. Almost carved from the rock.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb