BC: part 2


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, once again, I'm a blog slacker. Sorry it's taken me so long to do these entries! I think it's the fact that I have so much to say about everything that I feel like I need to take a couple hours to do this... so I keep putting it off until I have time. Hopefully I will finish this one tonight.

So, I left off in the last post talking about Chatterbox Falls. I also need to add that, on the Princess Louisa cruise, Katie and I played fiddle on the boat (she taught me several fiddle tunes -- I'm SO not a fiddle expert.) That was the first time I had played violin on a boat!

Wednesday evening, we just hung out around the lodge. We found out about the bridge collapse two hours after it happened -- that shows that I took part of that evening to sit around on the computer. 😊

Thursday, a bunch of us went to a really cool island - we took a boat ride, which was about two hours long, and ended up at the island, and had a picnic and explored a little. The island is called Jedediah Island, and it has a very interesting history. Here's a link to a description of it: http://www.vancouverisland.com/Regions/towns/?townID=3995

That night, Scott (Mom's first cousin) and Sue S. arrived at the lodge on a float plane! It was great to meet them -- my mom hadn't seen Scott for about twenty years (or more.) Everyone got together in the recreation room and watched a DVD of the L. family history. It was really, really well-done -- Peg did an amazing job at making it. I still remember a bunch of the music from it. Then, we had group pictures outside. Wendy, Tony, Randy and I had to go to bed relatively early so that we would be prepared for the next day...

...when we woke up at 6 am to go climb a mountain! It was a tough hike, but I loved it, and was so happy I did it. We stopped at a little bakery for breakfast, and then climbed to the top of Mount Steele. Tony knew so much about the mountain -- he has gotten to know his mountains so well. At the end of our hike (about nine hours later), we treated ourselves at an Indian restaurant. Our waitress was a character -- she was great.

Saturday, everyone who hadn't left yet went to Klein Lake (http://www.sunshinecoasteh.com/egmont/parks/klein.htm) for a potluck-style picnic and to go swimming. Several of us swam across the lake; it was a really comfortable temperature. I showed off my amazing diving skills. <-- Detect any sarcasm there at all? 😊

That afternoon, Katie, Wendy (who plays the flute), Nancy (plays cello), and I practiced a nice piece (written by the same guy who wrote Ashoken Fairwell) and then Betty brought some Norwegian SATB songs that we played along. Then, we gave a concert in Ray and Louise's room. It was fun to get to play with some of them, and to learn some of those Norwegian songs. That evening, we all ate at the fancy lodge restaurant (TOTALLY worth it to try it once.)

That night, we had a campfire -- Katie brought a collection of quirky hats, which we all wore, and we told random stories and sang random songs -- I loved it.

The next morning, most of us left... that was the only bad part of the trip.

Anyway, I'm going to put up all the rest of my pictures. I just noticed that, even though I talked about the Princess Louisa cruise in the last entry, I didn't put up any pictures of it. So I will start with those.


Additional photos below
Photos: 89, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Russ with his ladiezRuss with his ladiez
Russ with his ladiez

haha... Russ said, "I'm here with my ladies," and I had to take a picture. On the left is Nancy A., and on the right is Carol L..
Clapping alongClapping along
Clapping along

They were very nice and tolerated my botched fiddle playing. ha!
Seals!!Seals!!
Seals!!

They were SO CUTE.


20th August 2007

Violins and mountains
Alia, when you were just born, I clearly remember making a comment to some family member that I hoped you would grow up to "play the violin, climb mountains, and ride horses." Two of the three of these prophecies are manifest in these pictures!
20th August 2007

Whoa
That's funny! I had no idea you had the idea I'd play violin even before I started taking lessons. Yeah, well you know I love to ride horses, too! :)

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb