Last blog entry


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Penticton
February 10th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Was it an epic and legendary trip to Thailand? I will have to say no, well maybeeee a little. I thought by going on this trip that I have been wanting to go on since I was 17 was going to change my life and I would find what I was finally looking for. I do think it changed me in mini ways and made me a much stronger person and I also found what I was looking for but what I had already found what I was looking for, back in BC. I'm happy and proud of myself that I had enough courage to travel to the other side of the world by myself and survived it cause trust me there were some times where I thought I wasn't gonna make it. Since it seemed everyone Joe and Jane had travelled to Thailand I wanted to see what all the fus was about and indeed I found out. Thailand is a beautiful country yet also very ugly in some ways. I think you have to go there with no judgement and just take it all in. I believe I took it all in, including the smells (ick!). It's like a bittersweet country. On one hand you get to see thee most beautiful beaches probably in the world!!! but on the other hand well... don't need to say it really. Everyone goes to Thailand for something and the reason I went was to find myself, but I didn't realize I already had when I began my pre-trip journey to Vernon. I found people there that have been there since I was born and I found new people that complete me it seems. The longer I was away (including when I moved to Vernon and left Penticton leaving my Dad, Mom, and brother) the more homesick I became. I wanted my Benny (my cat!) who I had left with my mom in Vernon the whole time I lived there and I missed him soooo much. I wanted my bed mostly too! haha. Anyways enough about my inner thoughts and feelings..I will write about the rest of my trip and btw it's not the best ending to my story!

Ok...where did I leave off.. Oh yeah...sunscreen, meds, hat? I managed to buy all of those things including these gigantic horse pills that where suppose to make my infected throat and fever go away after a few days. I was feeling ok and it was such a beautiful day (just like everyday! lol) I went down to the quiet beach and set myself up under some palm trees to try and relax...a pillow woulda helped not my backpack haha oh well. I went for a swim and just bobbed around for awhile...totally beautiful! I went and layed down again and noticed it looked like an italian or spanish man about 30ish who was totally tanned...creepin..lol. It looked like he was eyeing up every woman on the beach including me and my sick self haha...after I kinda passed out and woke up I saw he had lured 2 older woman...well one was young and beautiful and had the most amazing body and well...maybe her mother?? She on the other hand from afar looked beautiful as well and topless...but the closer I saw the older she was....eeeks!!! She managed to get really close with this young stud while the younger girl sat on her own towel about 20 feet away. Eventually her phone rang and she walked down the beach on her phone talking away and then the guy totally deeked..haha.. oh I love people watching! The weird thing and kinda annoying thing that I thought I would be able to forget was cellphones but you wouldn't believe how many people had them!! Anyways..I walked around after that for a bit and then I headed back to my dorm, had a shower and decided to go to bed really early but as I was laying there on my top bunk with no fan on me, my hand started to itch like crazy!! I thought there were ants on my bed or something but then quickly realized it was those damn mosquitos!! I jumped out of bed and asked my next door neighbour if he had any repellent cause for the life of me I could not find mine! He gave me some but told me not to put it on my joints cause it would leave a scar....aaahh ok?? I ended up goin and sitting outside our dorm A...I guess its like a hang out for each dorm. A few of us began talking...nice and funny people. A girl from Austria who was totally jetlegged, my neighbour from god knows where, and a young man from Spain name Luca, and some other randoms who didn't speak up. They all hang out and go for dinner and had invited me but I declined as I felt like crap still. When I went to bed I finally fell asleep after a few hours...soooo hot!!! and was woken up around 2am by all the drunk tourists hanging around outside the door which I was convientently right beside 😊 I woke up in the am and a few new-comers had arrived from the morning boat, so it was a bit busy and I just got ready and left to get some foot. The only problem was that I could barely walk. My ankle that I had previously sprained felt like it was sprained again?? I couldn't understand and was very frustrated. I was also not feeling that much better. I believe I pretty much decided I wanted to go home at this time. I tried to contact my travel agent but it was evening there and I would have to wait until morning to see if she could get me on the plane 2 days later. I booked a plane from Krabi which is a boat ride away to Bangkok where I hoped the day after that I would be able to jump on a plane and come home. I called my parents and they all told me to come home. So when I decided to come home I decided also that it was time to shop!! Phi Phi had the nicest things but the most expensive but I knew if I stayed the whole 6 weeks I wouldn't be able to buy anything for anyone. So I shopped until I dropped...bartering is tiring!!! After that I knew even if I felt like crap I would have to see the viewpoint. So I hiked myself up there...god it was brutal! The stairs at one point shot up like a ladder...jeeez! And the rest of the path was going up, up, and uppppp...I was sweating like a mad woman with no water! There were 2 different pathes...and I chose the one that seemed shorter and one that promised icecream! So when I finally made it up after almost passing out... I bought a water and regained my breath and took the view in. Was absolutely breathtaking and is also the safe zone if there is another tsunami...weird! I was up there for awhile but sunset was coming and i didn't bring my repellent so I decided to go down back to my dorm where I showered...I hung out with the others and they invited me for dinner... we went to this place but it was fully packed so we went to another place that was a buffet. I had one singha and was feeling great...we decided to go to this bar called Banana bar but on the way up I started getting a headache that became worse and worse. I said I needed some tylenol and would come back if it went away. So i got back to my dorm and popped a bunch of pills and then started getting a fever again 😞 After awhile I just crawled into bed and fell asleep.

I woke up early to catch my boat and to also check my email in hopes that my travel agent arranged my flight for the next day..but I had a bit of a headache..well it felt like a hangover almost?? Everytime Imoved my head my whole brain felt like it was being squeezed...tres painful! So I managed to walk down to a computer before I realized some bugger stole my brand new crocs!!! and checked my email and saw everything was confirmed for the next day and the flight info was identical to my original flight...same times and flight numbers 😊 As I packed and got my stuff together my nagging headache wouldn't disappear after taking more meds. I got onto the boat and did some last minute suntanning and then got a taxi to the airport...still could barey talk or lift my head from the pain and walked into the airport a mess. I felt so sick an awful and took some more meds and went to the internet there and as i walked up the thai woman who worked there asked me if I was ok and that I looked vacant...she asked if I had a fever which I think I did but wasn't sure as the pain was so overwhelming...she gave me a little bottle that was filled with herbs it seemed and smelled like cloves. She said it would help the fever so I just smelled it and didn't ask any questions. I had to wait a few hours for my flight which sucked A LOT! Finally after total confusion as they had 2 flights going to bangkok but 2 different airways all in the same room trying to board in the same line...mmmk, typical though. Finally made it on the flight which tookabout 1.5 hours...I walked off the plane and a thai woman walked up to me and asked if I wanted a room...yes please! I paid too much but it had a/c and a tv...and they threw in a free thai massage which I hadn't tried yet. So I arrived at the hotel and tried to relax...I went downstairs to order some food from the restaurant and paid...and like 1.5 hours later after I called a few times and they called me... they finally brought the food which clearly reheated and they tried to get me to pay but well I tried to explain I had paid for it already...the thai girl just said ok and left...mmk again! Meanwhile I booked a massage at 9pm thinking it would help...wellll it didn't help but didn't make it worse either thank goodness! Thai massages are weird and I wouldn't reccomend them. They are thai woman who pretty much crawl all over you and push and prod whereever they want with no rhyme or reason! No really impressed but oh well. I went back to my room and tried to fall asleep..was hard but thought sleep would help my now migrane to go away. Well I woke at 5am and felt like a total wreck. I pretty much brushed my teeth and packed my stuff and took a cab to the airport where I was promised there was a medical clinic. Oh and btw when I was checking out they tried to make me pay for the food again....grr! Trying to explain to someone who doesn't speak your language something is very difficult and I had nooo energy so thank god they let it go. So I made it to the airport about 3 hours early and found a clinic...:D I pretty much walked i a begged them to help me. I talked to the doctor and he told me he would give me a few different pills to help but I told him I needed something now and he offered a pain killer injection...ok, sounds like a great idea!! So I laid down and they put an injection into the side of my butt, right into my muscle...(oh god it hurts just thinking about it!!) and usually when you get a needle in you there is relief when its taken out...well no, not this time..it felt like the needle was still in me and my muscle had the worst charliehorse ever! When I stood up I felt dizzy and my leg hurt so much...and the pain hadn't gone away. They asked if I wanted a wheelchair, but I said I thought I was ok but maybe when I check in I might need one. So they gave me some papers to say I was fit to travel but I might need a wheel chair. So I went to go check in and after standing in a line up that was a mile long I found out it was the wrong line up hahaa...oops...so after a few more mile long line ups I got through and only had to wait about 30 mins to board my plane. By this time my migrane had kinda gone away but was still lurking...Soooo after 20 hours of flying I was picked up by my Dad, Mom, and brother where I was too tired to cry from happiness...haha then we picked up my Benny and saw my Mom and came home where I managed to stay up until 9pm on Sunday...and now I am in Penticton totally jetlagged but managing...happy to be home 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb