Packing time


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nanaimo
March 4th 2014
Published: March 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

People keep asking me if I am excited or nervous, or what emotion I am feeling. In all honesty, I really don’t know how to feel because I still do not believe it yet. How is it possible that I am heading to the world down under/ the land of the roos/ Aussieland tomorrow! The only thing that is actually helping me believe it for just a second is that I have been packing for the past 3 days. I have packed and repacked my bag too many times to count. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Should I roll my clothes or fold them? I have no idea! I am still trying to figure how I am going to fit everything in and then also have room to bring home things for all of my loved ones. Now my mum keeps telling me not to bother about bringing home gifts, as long as I make beautiful life long memories and share them with her after the trip. Of course that is really sweet, but I cannot go to Australia and Bali without finding a single thing for my parents. Speaking of my parents, they are without a doubt the people I will miss the most, but I think this trip by myself will be good. Everyone keeps telling me that I am going to learn so much about myself and have a phenomenal time. I really do not want to pressure myself into “finding myself”.

Let me tell you a little bit about my trip, for those who do not already know, and for those who do, please bear with me! Tomorrow is the day when I start my big adventure! My first flight is leaving YVR (Vancouver) in the afternoon and flies into San Francisco, where I have a three-hour layover. Not enough time to leave the airport, but enough time to get from gate to gate with a little bit of grace. After San Francisco, a 14-hour flight awaits. Next stop Sydney! Crazy I know! You would think I would be done flying for the day, but I am not! I am supposed to arrive at noon Sydney time, which will be 10:00 the night before for me. I completely understand why we have time zones, but I just find them so strange. It’s like I will be going into the future. After a dreadful 4-hour layover in Sydney, it’s off Perth!

I guess I have not mentioned what I am doing for the rest of my trip! Something you have to learn from traveling is that you have to be flexible and not everything happens the way you want it. I am normally someone that plans everything, but when I am travelling, I have come to accept that sometimes I have no control over things and I simply need to try to embrace every situation! As for my current itinerary, I am planning to stay in and around Perth for close to a month. After that, I will be heading north to Bali, Indonesia for 10 days. Then I will be returning to Australia, to Cairns in Queensland, so I can explore the famous Great Barrier Reef for 5 days. From there I will be going down to the Victoria Territory and spend a view days exploring the famous Melbourne. I cannot head back to Canada without saying I have seen the Sydney Harbour Bridge or the Opera house, so I am going to spend a few days there as well. After that, my 7-week trip to the land of the roos will be over and I will have to go back to reality.



As for right now, I just need to take time for myself and explore! Since I am traveling alone, I will be the only one in charge of keeping this blog updated. I will try my best, but I make no promises so please do not hold it against me! I will write when I can. Hope you all enjoy. Next time I write on here I will be in Australia!! Wish me luck. Check in later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb