I'm off!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Golden
June 6th 2012
Published: June 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Highway difficultyHighway difficultyHighway difficulty

Highway 1 was closed due to a mudslide. My first day was cut short by Mother Nature.
Finally, I received my batteries in the mail and I was free to leave on my grand adventure with North America. So I packed up out of my brother's place and headed off towards Vancouver. From Calgary to Vancouver is about a thousand kilometers and would normally take about 10 hours. I expected to drive for about 5 or 6 hours. Instead, I only drove to Golden, about three hours away. As I arrived in Golden, the highway information sign announced that Highway 1 was closed. A quick stop at the BC visitor information station let me know that a mud slide had closed the highway between Golden and Revelstoke. That meant that I either had to take a long detour south that would add roughly 6 hours to the trip, or I could hang out in Golden until the road re-opened.



That's what I decided to do. I headed to the campground in town and set up my tent. I originally intended to sleep in the car, as it was raining and seemed that it would rain quite heavily. Then as I contemplated how to set myself up in the car, the rain stopped and seemed to clear up a bit. So I set up my tent and then went and had a look at the highway and the road block set up to prevent people from trying to get through.



Golden is just a little town in the mountains, but it is a rather nice little place. But it's still late spring in the mountains and that means it can be quite cold. And it was. I had to fish my gloves out of my stuff. My hands were frozen. But my sleeping bag is warm and I wasn't worried about being cold while I slept.



After getting all set up and having some dinner from the local supermarket, I went to bed, hoping the road would be open in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb