Day 6 - Cardboard Derby


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Fernie
January 26th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Howdy,

Sorry we've not written for a couple of days. Last lesson of the week was on Thursday and the weather was as cold as ever. Got another frostbitten nose and got very chilly toes. Have found the wonders of toe warmers which you can stick to your socks to keep your toes cosy, they are amazing.

Spent half of our lesson learning to ride switch (fakie - your back foot forwards) which is not at all easy. Found out that last day of the week is Thirsty Thusrday which means lesson finishes early to get in a cheeky beer at the bottom of the slopes. After only 3 days we now leave our instructor Jay and get passed on the Glen for next week.

Thursday evening I went boot shopping with the girls and now have a lovely pair of Burton Solitaires that actually hold my heal in my boot, now realise that my old ones were like wearing shoes boxes on my feet.

Yesterday we had no lessons but we did a photography course on the mountain in the morning. It was a bit too cold to take pictures without your fingers dropping off, about minus 28, so it wasn't the most exciting but it got us out on the mountain for a very clear sunny morning. Ads and I decided to hit the hill in the afternoon to practice what we'd learnt in this weeks lessons and were impressed with our improvement in riding fakie by the end of the day.

My new boots pinch quite a lot and I am not looking forwards to the next week of wearing them in!!

Went to watch the Ghostriders in the evening, they are the local ice hockey team. We sat next to a die hard fan with a cow bell who told us what was going on. Ghostriders won 5 - 3!

Saturday morning, we had a lie in and I went to get my boots heat moulded to give my poor toes a little more room but I don't think it's made much difference. Heading up the hill this afternoon to check out the cardboard derby, a local competition where they make boards and skis out of cardboard and race down the mountain!! Then should have a few beers this evening as it's Australia Day.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb