Back to Neverland Preamble - 2017 Edition


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Burnaby
February 1st 2017
Published: February 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Cough, cough… is this thing still on? It has been several years since I abandoned this whole blogging thing but what the hell, maybe I’ll give it another go. If history has shown me anything, it is that I’ll abandon this thing by March.

To those just tuning in, today I’m off on another quest to avoid being an adult and have (kinda) quit my beloved profession (no sarcasm!) to galivant around the globe that will likely take me from Ho Chi Minh to Reykjavik in about 6 months. Avoiding adulthood was a noble quest when I was 24, cute when I was 31, and at the age of 35, it’s now on the cusp of desperate but even after 52 countries I still have plenty of bucket list items to cross off.

Travel used to be all about adventure and adrenaline for me; the world was new and strange. More recently, my travels have morphed into a different kind of experience. Although I still seek out and thrive trying to push the boundaries of my body and experience, truthfully, most of my day consists of the mundane. Waking early and having the hostel to myself, sightseeing before noon, and wandering streets and paths for a scenic and quiet place to read a book and watching the world go by is usually the daily routine all while getting lost in my own head.

This will normally just be my dumping spot to debrief and occasionally share the ridiculous anecdotes that I’ll accumulate along the way. As usual, I’m prefacing this with the usual disclaimer that the bulk of anything written here will be unedited and unplanned. This is my out so I can avoid the scorn of all of my lovely English teacher friends :P.

Finally, even after 12 years of travel, I still get incredibly nervous and anxious whenever I depart. I’ve been so lucky to have collected so many people that I love and care about and will miss you greatly.

Ok, enough preamble. Wheels up in 1 hour!



Yalla!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb