Parade Day


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
July 15th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PatchworkPatchworkPatchwork

I was trying to show the bright yellow blocks of the landscape, but it just doesn't show up very well.


Three Hills had a parade today~~that’s another thing I love about small towns in the summer! Trochue had one two weeks ago, and Three Hills this week! Also a tractor pull (unbearably hot and dusty) and a fireman’s challenge…we didn’t even go…waaaaay too hot.

We’ve been here three weeks, and only have this week left. Ordinarily summer projects are five weeks, but this summer they decided to try four instead. We’d all be fine staying two more weeks. I feel sad, like camp is coming to an end, but excited when I realize there’s another one just down the road! We’re talking about what we’re going to do between now and the September project….Barney and Bea are going home (Calgary) and Fred and Rose are going through Glacier Park, and then down to Billings on their way to Kansas City, where their project is. We’re going to Edmonton for a few days, and then will head south through Jasper and Banff. We need to be in Washington September 8. (Bea and Barney are the lead team on that project too, so we’re happy about that.)

One more thing before I quit. When we came three weeks ago,
Mustard fieldsMustard fieldsMustard fields

I can't describe the color of these mustard fields. They just practically glow.
it had been raining and everything was so green. It’s now mid-July, and the green is sparse! The crops around here are mustard and canola. We haven’t seen the canola in bloom, but the mustard fields are gorgeous….such a bright yellow that they almost appear to glow. And when you’re on a hill (and there aren’t very many!) looking across the fields, it’s like a patchwork quilt, with bright yellow squares between the green grain and canola fields. I’m going to include a couple pictures to give you a vague idea.

I’ve also included some pictures in other entries, and I think I have the gist of how that works, so I’ll try to put them in more often.


Advertisement



17th July 2007

Beautiful scenery
You are right, they are gorgeous. I keep thinking how great it is to be having more "firsts" in you lives. As a (retired) teacher, don't you keep feeling like you should be taking notes and pictures to add to your classes?
17th July 2007

enjoying the news
We are enjoying the entries each day. It sounds like you are doing well. We have always wanted to go to the Calgery Stampede. Some day I am sure we will. I was surprised it was too hot to go to the parade. Being so far north seems like it would be cooler. The dinner threater reminded me of the one we all went to at Fort Peck. They didn't have dinner so this one was even more fancy. I was wondering what was for dinner? I'm still using things I would have bought in 1979. I think they are a little out of touch of what old is. Is there a way to see your photo album? I mean all your photos or are they viewed just on that certain day. Keep up the great work. You are doing a good job keeping it interesting. We will be looking forward to your next adventure. Hugs around, we send our love.
18th July 2007

At last
Hello!!!! I finally had a chance to sit down and go through your entries. I still have a grin pasted on my face! I was concerned that you were taking the extra seating from the auditorium back to your camper!! Waste not, want not! Reading your blogs is like having a short visit with you on a daily basis! I will be checking in more often! I think of you both all the time!
18th July 2007

Hi, Jeanne!
I think about you often, and wonder how your summer is going. Is Ron getting stronger? Hug your grandkids for me.....

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb