Jasper National Park


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper National Park
September 30th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The trip from Lake Louise up to Jasper was supposed to be one of the best drives in Canada in terms of mountain scenery, and did not disappoint. It was made even better by Trent and Stacey, the couple on their way home to Hinton (northeast of Jasper) who not only stopped and gave me a lift all the way, but went above and beyond the call of duty. They bought me lunch, and stopped at the points of interest on the way, such as Bow Lake and the Athabasca Falls (which, had I gone by bus, I would have missed). Having dropped me off at the hostel, they then gave me ride into town to get some groceries, and even a lift back again! Canada could not ask for better ambassadors.

Jasper is another tourist town, the tourist tat going to another level here: Christmas tat shops, open all year round. Still not quite as bad as Banff though, possibly because its not as big nor as busy. The Elk were in full rut mode, and their favoured battle grounds are around Jasper, so saw quite a few of them around.

Having done a bit of a hike up to the summit of Whistlers Mountain, I headed to the wilderness hostel at Maligne Canyon, a few miles outside Jasper. The hostel was pretty basic - just a couple of dorms and a kitchen with no running water. I thought I had the dorm to myself, but it turned out I was sharing it with a mouse. I scared it back into its hole in the skirting board, then blocked the hole up as best I could. Unfortunately for the mouse, the Czech couple in the other dorm caught him and put him under an upturned bucket in the porch, where he froze to death during the night.

I took the touristy cruise on Maligne Lake, then hiked up to the Bald Hills summit for another spectacular panoramic mountain view.

After this fairly expensive but thoroughly enjoyable little tour of the Banff and Jasper national parks, I decided it was time to get moving again, and headed east out of the mountains towards Edmonton and The Prairies.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Not Hinton HicksNot Hinton Hicks
Not Hinton Hicks

(though Trent was a bit rough round the edges)
Here Elk HereHere Elk Here
Here Elk Here

(nice rack)


21st October 2009

Northern Exposure revisited
Going to have to get out my atlas and find out where all these places are soon. Seeing the elk is sending me Northern Exposure flashbacks and the travelling rugged beardy look must help you blend in with the locals! Oh, and that photo of Maligne Canyon is fantastic. Frame it. Keep on truckin' Janet

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb