"I'm so sick from the drink, I need home for a rest"


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Fort McMurray
June 22nd 2011
Published: June 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The trip we so longed for and planned out these past six monthgs is over. If that statement drips with meloncholy overtones, good! That is my intention. We are home, we face mountains of laundry, the grind of house chores, bills, cooking meals, the general slap in the face of reality once more. Kenneth and I dare not speak the dreaded words that creep into our minds every now and then but we know each other is thinking them... we go back to work in five days. UGH!

The rush of the past 12 days has caught up to us. We are road weary and tired. The head cold Glagow dealt me doesn't help matters... everything is fuzzy. It is nice to be home in our our bed. I giggled my arse off last night when I crawled under the covers and put my head on the pillow. Before sleep came, I thought back on our trip, trying to remember all the details and sights we saw, and I thought of how I could describe it to you. How do you describe such beauty and mystery, and hope to do it any justice? I'm afraid I am neither worthy or talented enough to make the images come alive to you through this blog, but there's no harm in trying. Over the next few days, I'll post our day to day itinerary and pictures, hopefully getting the details and names correct. Honestly, so much info was thrown at us on our trip, it is impossible to get it all down and correct.

Just a couple of things to end this entry. First off, an apology. Sorry to my family and friends who were looking forward to the entries on our trip as we went along. The tour name, "Country Roads of Scotland" should have been a dead give away... we went to the nooks and crannies of Scotland that technology has not quite yet reached. In a way, it may be better this way... I wont be rushed (meaning be prepared for long winded blogs, folks).

Secondly, a huge thank you to everyone on this trip who made it that more special. A huge shout out to Rob, our amazing tour director who knows way too much about Scotland; and to Al, our coach driver, who got us where we wanted to go and always had a smile on his face! Without you both, the trip would've been boring. To all the people we met on the trip, our fellow passengers, it was an honor to have met you all. We enjoyed every minute with you and we hope to keep in touch with you! Last but not least, to Scotland and her wonderful people. We met people all over the country and everyone was welcoming and helpful. Such a beautiful country with beautiful people... we will be back!

Stand by.....





Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb