On The Road Again!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Travel Doc'sTravel Doc'sTravel Doc's

It's official: I'm on the road again!
You know, it's funny how life works. Three short weeks ago, I was complaining about being home and missing the thrill of being somewhere different. I've been sorting all the shit I brought back from this trip with me and wondering when (not if) I would get the chance to do this again. Well, it turns out that I'm leaving for my next trip tomorrow! I'll be spending 2 -½ weeks in Europe, coming back on May 31st.

Some of you may be asking, "Tom, how the hell did this happen?!" Well long story short, my parents are both dutch immigrants, and my Dad was looking to go to Holland for a little while to visit his parents. He happened to find an extremely cheap flight, and when he told me how much it cost, I looked at my dwindling savings account and decided to make it dwindle a little more. So I'll be hanging around Holland with my Dad, visiting some friends and family for about a week. He'll be heading back to Canada after that, but I'll be taking off to Berlin (probably) then somewhere in Eastern Europe (most likely Poland or Hungary).

This trip should
Father/Son Travel Time!Father/Son Travel Time!Father/Son Travel Time!

At least for a week, or until one of us can't take it anymore and hops a freight train!
be a lot of fun - short and sweet, you know? I'm looking forward to spending some quality time with my Dad, seeing all my relatives again, and visiting some close friends that I haven't seen in far too long. Oh, and having one week to myself to putz around Europe will be pretty bad-ass too.

So there you have it; I'm on the road again - European style! God, I'm gonna be sooooooo broke when this is over! I can see the headlines now: "Tom Haarman: panhandling at a street corner near you!" Whatever, the journey continues, however brief it may be.

Advertisement



14th May 2007

Panhandling
If you end up panhandling let me know what corner, I'll throw a few quarters your way. :D
15th May 2007

Party
I hope your father parties more than you did.
15th May 2007

Hey...
Thanks Michelle, I'll need it! By the way, I put those discs in your mom's mailbox for you! ... Sorry Chaz, but my Dad makes me look like Keith frickin'Richards! Ouch!
16th May 2007

Pick me up..
some cool Heineken paraphernalia. It's my favourite beer. Enjoy the trip!!!
16th May 2007

toilettpaper thing
hi tom, let's do the toiletpaper thing again and let your dad drive around holland.... and have a big laugh.. nice to see ya soon, groetjes Ilona, Holland
18th May 2007

Pic's
Got the disks, thanks. Havent had a chance to sit down and go through them. :D Take lots of pics in Holland.
19th May 2007

have fun
have fun my boys. This is and will be a memory forever. The toilet paper ride was so much fun Ilona. Donn't drink to much beer Tom. You learned that in Holland last time remember!! Take care next week on your next adventure and look after your dad till Monday. I'm looking forward to your next travel block. Let me know where you are going OKE. Love you MOM.
20th May 2007

Hi
All this talk of toilet paper... Do we want to know? Have a safe trip, but not so safe as to not have fun!

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 95; dbt: 0.1102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb