Left Town Just in Time.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
February 16th 2016
Published: February 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Early flight to Calgary so we had spent the night in a hotel near the airport. When I looked out the window just before dawn, a light snow was falling with the forecast calling for it to change to freezing rain.I guess I was the next in line for a more thorough security check as I had to remove my belt and shoes and be subjected to a frisking. From now on, I will remove my belt and shoes before being asked. Tough toenails if my pants fall to the floor. At least I didn't have to go into the glass booth to be penetrated by some sort of rays to see if I had swallowed a bomb.

After boarding the plane, it was a game of hurry up and wait. We sat on the tarmac for a good half hour waiting to be de-iced and have the runway plowed.



A warm welcome to Calgary airport from the greeters who efficiently pointed us towards the car rental counters. First glitch was the lack of personal behind the counter. There were nine people in line before the manager appeared for back-up duty. Half way through the booking, I was informed that the car was not ready. Sigh. I was afraid that my son, who was to wait for us would give up and leave.



When the car was ready, I was cheerfully informed that I had been upgraded at no extra fcost. I did not want a bigger car! Even if gas is cheap here, why drive a SUV when a sedan is just fine. Looking over the counter, I saw that the car I had ordered was ready. While I had been waiting, I noticed I had been ripped off. The deal was that all service charges were included in the daily rate. On page 2 I saw that they had been added itemised, almost doubling the cost. When I brought this up with the agent, he pointed out that I had booked through a third party and I should take it up with them.



Note to self (and the rest of you), do not book through airportrentals.com. During our long flight to Hong Kong tomorrow, I will be contacting them for a refund and lodging a complaint with the Better Business Bureau for mis-leading advertising.



When we arrived at the hotel, I was relieved to see my son was still waiting. What is an hours wait after not seeing each other for 20 years. We dumped the bags in the room and headed out for a quick trip to Banff. It has been about 30 years since I was last there and it was the first time for my travel companions. We walked around town for a bit and found the Banff Springs Hotel. A magnificent old building with all the charm of the other old CPR Hotels. Beautiful inside with its vaulted ceilings, elegant woodwork and nooks and crannies. We stayed long enough for a beer and then headed back to Calgary. I kept glancing in the rear-view mirror to watch the sun set behind the mountains.



We had a supper downtown and then back to the hotel. Vacations are so tiring!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb