Last Night in Calgary!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
September 8th 2015
Published: September 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My last night in Calgary is here! Tomorrow is the big day. I'll be flying Calgary - Vancouver - Auckland - Cairns. It's a 27 hour journey total. In Cairns, I'll be staying with my friend Hilary for a few days (she is going to dental school there). Cairns is known as the backpacker capital of Australia and has a reputation for it's beaches, the great barrier reef and rainforests.



General outline for the trip:


• Cairns - Sydney (hop on, hop off greyhound bus) - This is about a 3500km trip down the East Coast of Australia. I'm planning on doing it in 3 weeks. Yes, this is the same route as Finding Nemo (starting at the Great Barrier Reef and ending in Sydney). Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.
• From Sydney, flying to Darwin to experience the Outback. First a tour of Kakadu National Park, then a trip through Alice Springs, Uluru, then all the way down to Adelaide. This is about a 2 week tour.
• After Adelaide, I'm planning on doing Kangaroo Island (yes there are kangaroos. And penguins...), Tasmania (yes there are Tasmanian devils) and Melbourne. The drive from Adelaide to Melbourne is supposed to be one of the nicest drives on the planet. It's called Great Ocean Road.
• In mid November, I'm flying from Melbourne to Auckland. In New Zealand, I'm doing a 19 day bus tour through the whole country.



I'll try to post as often as possible (but not too much) and keep everyone up to date on what I've been doing. Please comment, praise, criticize my bad jokes, etc. Let's make it as interactive as possible!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb