HOME!!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
December 20th 2011
Published: December 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Got up early this morning (UK time) to get to the airport. I was a little worried at the weight of my bags. I had crammed as much as I could into my carry-on and purse but my checked bag still weighed more than I was allowed. At least I though so since the scale I was using to weigh with it was hard to actually see the numbers when the bag was fully on it, so it was a bit of a guess at the actual weight. I did manage to get it from around 25kg to 23kg although that was still 3 kg too heavy. British Midland International (which is what I was flying to London on) has a limit of 20kg and charge £10 per kilo over 20kg. My bags weighed in at 22.8kg, which they always round up. Luckily, for whatever reason, the lady that I went to didn’t charge me for my bags. The woman on my right, the person at the counter made her go pay for exceeding the weight limit and wouldn’t put her bags through until she came back with a receipt saying she had paid. The woman on my left, the person at the counter put her bags through but also gave her a slip that she needed to go over and pay for the extra weight. I am not sure how much their bags weighed but I am glad that I got the person I did!

After a bit of a delay in Edinburgh we got to London, I think we actually got there a few minutes ahead of schedule so that was nice. I had a fairly pleasant stop over in London. It gave me a chance to stretch my legs, have a nice breakfast and look in Harrods. Well the airport Harrods anyway. My flight from London to Calgary did not take off on time due to congestion at the airport so we did sit on the runway for about half an hour. Other than that it was a good (if really long) flight. I watched a number of movies, including Captain America, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Good food on the plane and free alcohol so it is hard to complain too much. I found my bag and was pleasantly surprised by the nice weather in Calgary. It is good to be home and to relax, while wrapping gifts, because it is almost Christmas!!

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.627s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb