One week till departure!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
April 25th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am.. only one week left till I take off on the adventure of a lifetime. The unfortunate part about traveling so lightly, is that it takes very little time & preparation to get everything together for the trip. This means I now have one whole week left to simply sit around anxiously awaiting my departure. This time next week I will most likely be sipping some delicious Pinot Noir in a tiny Parisian cafe, celebrating finally having made it to 21 happy and healthy. Although I will be thinking of all of you and wishing that I could be enjoying that day with you, I am sorry to say that I don't think I will feel TOO disappointed :P
I have included a map of the 'Camino de Santiago' for any of you who have not seen what the walk looks like. I am doing the full 800 km, beginning in Saint Jean Pied-de-Port in the south of France, and walking west across the Northern coastal region of Spain. The final destination is the Cathedral in Compostela de Santiago. I have learned that this roughly translated means 'The Field of Stars of Saint Iago', who was the first Catholic monk to come to this area. The Cathedral I am told is absolutely breath takingly beautiful and I look forward to feeling the accomplishment of walking through its doors! We are also given a 'Pilgrim's Passport' at the beginning of the trip, and at every pilgrim hostel and tourist info center although the way you can have it stamped. Once you arrive in Santiago, you must bring your fully stamped passport to a Pilgrim office where they will give you an official compostela , or certificate. Let me tell you that the first thing I am doing when I get back is dropping some serious coin to get that certificate framed in some beautiful dark, rich Mahoghany perhaps? Anyways it will at least provide me with some proof to bring back to all of you! haha.
All for now. Must make the most of this last week spending all my time with loved ones and trying to keep myself as sane as possible. The count down has begun though! Only 6 more sleeps....

Advertisement



29th April 2011

Paris Bistros
Brittany, I know you are leaving this weekend so I wanted to give you some bistro suggestions... I could email the list if you wish..... POLIDOR 41 rue Monsieur le Prince Good; a quieter street w/ Traditional Paris Bistro Good comfort food but a bit disappointing Indifferent; speak 67 Euros 01.43.26.95.34 other restaurants tables of 6, shared Mozzarella salad; Beef Burgundy (ok) some English with 10 euro tip; Metro: Ode'on Near Blvd. St. Michel & more intimate Escargot; confit of duck; tarte tatin unclear on service Luxembourg Gardens good except TT was luke warm and burnt compris Pitchet of vin blanc & vin rouge RESTAURANT LOUIS PHILIPPE 66 Quai Hotel de Ville Great next to Seine & Very Parisian Good: tasty not heavy Friendly; not as 62 Euros 01.42.72.29.42 Pont Louis Philippe light and airy upstairs shared pate'/toast; (good) much English but no dessert Metro: Pont Marie but a 20 min. walk from small downstairs Trout almadin you can get by. apartment/Luxembourg views of the Seine, etc. Cod w/ mashed potatoes (v. good) nice garden/plaza near. eat upstairs wine by glass & demi boutielle

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb