Why Settle?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 7th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

There

A few stops on the way out to Calgary - culture-shocking New York and refreshing Montreal.

Atwater TowerAtwater TowerAtwater Tower

Looming over the ever deliciously trendy Atwater Market
When I made my decision to return to Canada, I struggled with the thought of "settling down." To my nomadic mind this implied immediate marriage, pursuit of a serious career, home-ownership and a plethora of other dreadful sounding traps for the free spirit. Stressed by the thought of instant immobility, I spent a long time ignoring my own declaration that I needed to come home, searching spastically for jobs that would keep me on the move.

Numerous lengthy discussions with Dad in Ireland assuaged some of my unfounded fears that I was closing the door on all future adventures as we dreamed up career options and travel plans to last a lifetime; but it was a walk through Montreal's Trudeau airport that convinced me I was right to come back. Even as I deplaned, I caught snippets of Frenglish conversation - Montreal's unique dialect that switches effortlessly between French and English every few words. I smiled when the customs agent greeted me with "Hello, Bonjour" and beamed with pride when he said, "Welcome home."

Struck by the diversity and open-mindedness of my own country, I felt suddenly inspired to explore it more thoroughly. After a wonderful week spent with
Irish Pub in MontrealIrish Pub in MontrealIrish Pub in Montreal

Dad and I tried to keep our pub-going alive after we got back from Ireland, but the modern rock music they were playing failed to set the mood
family and friends in Montreal, I made my way to Calgary to begin my next adventure - an in-depth exploration of what this city and the vast area surrounding it have to offer. Since I got back last Friday, I've already been for a delicious steak dinner at Saltlik restaurant and zip-lining (sliding down a cable) from the top of the ski-jump tower at Canada Olympic Park. With hiking season and the Calgary Stampede just around the corner, I'm sure there won't be any shortage of bloggable events in my life; and I certainly won't feel settled.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Precious MomentsPrecious Moments
Precious Moments

Posing with my g-ma - still dignified at 95
A Typical HomeA Typical Home
A Typical Home

My Montreal house
A Typical StreetA Typical Street
A Typical Street

My Montreal street
Atypical BackyardAtypical Backyard
Atypical Backyard

This fence is an original - almost as old as our house!
Some Things Never ChangeSome Things Never Change
Some Things Never Change

A pose with my old friend Vero, my sister and our moms after a wonderfully relaxed catch-up dinner
Canadian FoodCanadian Food
Canadian Food

THIS is what we eat in Canada
KonafaKonafa
Konafa

My Middle-Eastern favourite - phyllo dough baked with a filling of rosewater pudding
The Oldies KnowThe Oldies Know
The Oldies Know

The Lido Cafe in Kensington, Calgary - all-day breakfasts and endless cups of coffee are a sure recipe to keep you open through the decades


8th June 2009

Lido!!!
Ah Emilie! You brought a tear to my eye with your last picture. This was my favourite thing to do on my own every Saturday morning for two years!! Wow, real pangs of sadness... and of missing it all. Another reassurance that a planned holiday there next year is a must! Oh, and I LOVE the Saltlik! :))
8th June 2009

Welcome home Emilie!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb