My trip looms on the horizon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can remember when I first started counting down for my trip; it was around 200 days then suddenly it was 62 and now it is down to counting away the wee hours. The prospect of flying half way around the world suddenly seems less exciting and even scarier as the clock ticks onward. I came to the realization that I will be leaving so much behind; my friends, my family, everything I have known and found comforting. All scary yet exciting thoughts.

I find it amusing that I have already learned so much about myself merely from the simple prospect of my departure from my life that I have made here thus far. I realized how much my friends mean to me and thoughts about not wanting to leave even crossed my mind after a heart wrenching farewell. I have also started to notice things that I have found uniquely Canadian from random acts of kindness to the uniqueness of an Alberta winter. All things I have already started to miss.

I have also packed and unpacked my backpack three or four times to make sure I had everything and to slowly remove things I deem unnecessary that add extra weight. The initial act of leaving has suddenly become extremely complicated!


Advertisement



12th January 2009

O lawd
Hey Buddy, the leaving part is scary, but arriving is much more fun. Be sure to keep this updated!
13th January 2009

Bonne Voyage!
Nick. Good luck with 41 hours of total air-time travel! Ashley just left Calgary last week for the Central America. The first E-mail she wrote: “We went to the jungle today. I saw two sloths in the wild and lots of lizards!!” No more snow on driveway to shovel.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb