Realisation


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
November 28th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My intention for travels in South America (Jan-Apr 2009) have evolved a number of times since I began planning during the summer of 2008;

Originally, I simply felt that I needed a break from the 'developed' world, and decided that South America would be an ideal candidate, as I have always wanted to learn to speak spanish fluently. Since then, many things have affected my intentions for this trip -

After deciding to write a paper on the moral issues associated with profits gained within the global microfinance industry, I began to discover my strengthening interest in community entrepreneurship in developing countries, and further, community development in general.

As I continue my effort to organise a directed research study through the UofC while abroad, my interest in understanding why some citizens of the world focus more on their differences rather than their similarities as human beings does not stop deepening. Why is it so difficult for those of us fortunate enough not to be plagued with the thought of starvation, political upheaval or lack of healthcare, to understand that the global distribution of wealth seems to undermine the idea that every person inhabiting this earth shares the same fundamental needs? These are, (and forgive me if you disagree) to be with family and friends (love), to be fed, and to be safe (and of course, to be content, (although contentment, I believe, is a product of these achievements)). This question, rather, this understanding, is what will provide the basis for my trip to Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia.

I am genuinely interested in understanding what is it exactly that drives the overconsumption, the rapacity of the wealthy populations of this world. Will a BMW get you there in higher spirits? Will a Prada purse allow its inanimate contents a more enjoyable journey? Will marble countertops provide for a more nutritious feast? I'd be a hypocrite if I were to say I wasn't involved in gluttonous overconsumption...but I will admit that I am beginning to understand that the happiness we try and achieve through material possessions and social status is illogical. The most profound and enlightening happiness is something that we all inherently possess from the time of our birth. We can only achieve the highest level of contentment by drawing it out from within ourselves - that is to say...we are already the happiest and most fulfilled people that we can be - albeit, it is up to each and every one of us to find this happiness, and apply it to our every day lives.

So begins my journey - I will leave in search of the similarities between me and the poverty-stricken individuals of select villages throughout Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia. What I will find, I am sure, is that although I have the resources that could feed a family for a lifetime, my fulfillment will arise in undertanding that everyone I meet has the most passionate and unwavering respect for life in its simplest sense. It is for this reason that I will try and bring opportunity, in the form of small capital investments, (be them applied in an entrepreneurial setting, or a community setting), to the people and villages I visit while on my journey.

It is at risk of sounding narcissistic that I write the previous paragraph. My only intention is to publicize my ideas for travel in order to create a foundation upon which to begin fundraising for that purpose. As such, if you have read this, and feel compelled to make a contribution to my activities, please contact me at mrwannop@ucalgary.ca.

Cliche will get the better of me as I finish with a quote that I feel summarizes everything you just managed to get yourself through;

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace."

~ Sri Chinmay Ghose


Peace and Love

MW




Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb