What an incredible journey with 'TravelBlog!'


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
January 14th 2018
Published: January 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

2018 is well in its course. And we face the new realities – extreme climates all over the world and the US withdraws from the Paris Accord; we are afraid of a nuclear holocaust while two mad men ready to press the red buttons; the US President uttering racial slurs to the African and other nations! Still we say “Happy New Year” to each other; because, some of us continue to believe in the nicety of human civilization and look forward to a better tomorrow. And definitely our travel blog community is one of them; because, we share our experience, our love and friendship with one another, we are eager to support others when there is a need. That makes a difference. So even I am late, it is never too late to say “Happy New Year” to my brothers and sisters!

I agree it’s been a while. It’s not that I was not traveling. I been to South America in June, I was in South East and South Asia in December and I am heading to Africa next week. I have no shortage of materials for writing blogs. Then why am I not writing any? Well, I have been up to my eye balls while trying to publish travel books. One is in my native Bengali language and another in English. No, they are not Lonely Planet type guides, that’s not my style; mine are the travelogues. If some of you have published books, you would know the task! Work with the editors back and forth, the interior designers, preparing blurbs, setting pictures, formatting, cover design – the whole nine yards. It has been difficult to keep work-life balance for the last eight months. Why did I start writing books? Well, it’s all your fault the “Travelblog.org”!! It’s not that I haven’t written short stories or articles before,- I did so in the Newspaper columns and in our family magazine. But the motivation to write and sharing with others grew more and more when I started writing the blogs. Here I got my complete freedom. Initially, I was nervous; I was checking my grammar in every sentence. But when I started receiving comments, I realized how close a community we are. My fear-factor disappeared and I started to enjoy it thoroughly. Yeeeyy, I thought. My friends started calling me blog-master. Who cares! Then I started thinking why not publish a book? Turning the blogs to a book was challenging indeed, then I had to think about how to share my book with others. ”Why do you think one will pick up your book when there are hundreds others?”, the editor asked me every time. I learned a lot from them and I am ready to share my learning with the others. If you are interested, drop me an email at agango54@gmail.com . I will be happy to share. Believe me, if I can do it, - you can too. My book on Vietnam is now listed in amazon and in other channels covering a wide range of global market - North America, Asia, Europe and so on… for example, check it out at http://amzn.to/2muChdd & http://amzn.to/2EAF7nP & http://bit.ly/2qZfESS. In addition, there come the e-books in all the channels. The audience and the habit of reading books have changed all over the world in the last ten years and the publishers are trying to keep pace with them.

So, do I stop writing blogs from now on? Hell, No! You are my roots, you ‘raised me up’ and you taught me how to spread my wings. I will be with you forever! Once I settle down a bit, I will be back again! This blog is not ‘au revoir’…this is to tell you ’sẽ trở lại’ in Vietnamese, ‘I will come back again’.

*****

Advertisement



14th January 2018

Well said!
Congratulations on the book release. We need more incredible photos and travel tales! Looking forward to the next travelogue about your next trip to Africa. Happy New year!
14th January 2018

Well said!
Thank you Mohan! Yes, all the pics of Vietnam are in the book. I hope to take some good pics during my trip to Kenya next week.
14th January 2018

Well done Tab
"Everyone's journey is their own...the path they follow is their own...those that write a book of their travels ensure their footprints endure...for a long long time!"...Dancing Dave. Well done Tab...proud to have you as a TB friend.
14th January 2018

Well done Tab
Dave, very well summed up, couldn't say it better! Thank a million for all the support from the day one.
14th January 2018

Enjoy your travels!
Good to hear from you Tab! Enjoy all your amazing travels. Few of us get this great privilege. Happy New Year and all the best for the future!
14th January 2018

Enjoy your travels!
What a pleasant surprise Mel! I haven't written blog for a while, that'e why was out of touch. Miss you and our old gang, Mel. Hope you are doing well. Let's have a coffee sometime.
14th January 2018

And a Happy New Year to you!!!
I'm delighted to have been part of your Travelblog family which has inspired you to now write a book. I'll order it tomorrow. I hope it is on Kindle.
14th January 2018

And a Happy New Year to you!!!
So good to hear from you, Bob! Very Happy and prosperous year to you and family! I was missing you all when I couldn't devote much time in travel blog. I will feel honoured when you order my book. In a way, the book is my tribute to Travelblog.org!...Stay well!
14th January 2018

And a Happy New Year to you!!
I missed your last line, Bob. The link in amazon.com is for the paperback. The kindle version e-book will be out 3rd week of January. If you are interested in kindle version, I will forward you the link as soon as I get.
14th January 2018

Very cool
I understand what an undertaking this can be, so kudos to you for hanging in there.
14th January 2018

Very Cool
Thank you Karen....although time intensive, I must admit this has been an wonderful experience publishing a book. I can feel how the authors go through it all while the readers get the cream of the pie!!! No regrets though! Will do it again!
15th January 2018

Very exciting
There is a forum thread on travel blog where they advertise books written by members.
15th January 2018

Very Exciting
Thank you Dave & MJ....I was not aware of it. That would be excellent...would like to share with others to motivate writing books...we may have interested folks in our community. Thank you for the information. I will search for it.
15th January 2018

Congrats!
Well done Blog Master! I look forward to making it one of my travel reads!
15th January 2018

Congrats!
Hahaha...'Blog Master'...you too Brutas! Hey Andrea, you first complete your magnificent Sri Lanka expedition, then get one of my book through amazon when you are back...I will feel honoured! I envy yr trip!!!
16th January 2018

Kindle version...
yes, please send me the link when it is available.
16th January 2018

Kindle version
No problem, Bob...it will probably be out during the 4th week of January. I will be in Kenya during that week. If I cannot send you the link around that time, I will send you the link when I am back about a week later.
16th January 2018

Kindle version
Bob, since I wrote to you an hour earlier, I just checked the link in amazon.com. To my surprise, I found that both the kindle and paperback versions are now available. The publisher seems to be conservative in time. Anyway, here is the link: http://amzn.to/2muChdd Hope you would like it. Thanks, Bob
18th January 2018

Happy New Year
Happy New Year Tab, wishing you many happy adventures this year! And congratulations on the Vietnam book - it must be a very satisfying accomplishment :)
18th January 2018

Happy New Year!
Hi Ren and Andrew, Very Happy and Healthy New Year to you and family! Thank you for wishing me a great trip to Kenya. Yes, I am looking forward to it. Indeed, the Vietnam Diary gives me a joy unparalleled. It's my 2nd book, the first one was on Thailand...but this one I wanted to turn my blogs to a book so that I could share with everyone, especially my travel blog family. And indeed, you are all part of my family...you all showed me how to embrace and enjoy the world we all live in. A big Thank You to all!
18th January 2018

Kindle version...
I found it!
18th January 2018

Kindle Version!
Yeeye, Bob is my first reader of 'Vietnam Diary' from Travelblog....I think. You folks are awesome...love you all! I learned a lot from you all! I have a lot to post...will do it slowly!!
18th January 2018

I've started reading your book...
well written and a quick read. I like that you get to know and appreciate so many people during your adventures.
18th January 2018

I've started reading your book...
Bob, thank you so much for reading the book and providing me your comment. It means a lot to me. Much appreciated!
18th January 2018

Kuwa na safari salama!
Have fantastic time in Kenya. Don't forget Big 5 and scenic journey!
18th January 2018

Kuwa na safari salama!
Asante. Kutakuwepo katika safari

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 24; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb