The Awesomeness of Banff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
November 3rd 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Onwards to BanffOnwards to BanffOnwards to Banff

Horses and the beginning of mountains.
The National Park of Banff is a place everyone should visit once in their life. Sure there is nothing but mountains, trees, crazy waterfalls, more mountains, awesome ski hills, a bunch of wild animals, and expensive stores, but damn this place does it all well. If you are like me, being of the poor stock of low brow human swine, Banff can get intimidating. Good thing I went during the off season when hotels are now reasonabily priced at under 100 bucks, versus the normal 300 dollar deals. Being a tourist ski town, everything seems to be marked up by about 100 percent. Granted a lot of the things you find in stores and restaurants are very good quality. You want overpriced Jade? This is the place to go. You want some of the best nature landscapes this side of Norway? Go here. Seriously, besides Newfoundland and my little slice of redneck Nova Scotia, this is about as awesome as Canadian can get. Picture heaven.

Besides being surrounded by bigass mountains and endless amounts of trees with supposedly hibernating bears, Banff is know for skiing. Now I don't ski very well, or snowboard. I tend to break too many bones
MountainMountainMountain

Cool pic of a mountain and a lake.
seeing as I'm a horrible bad luck magnet. The slopes here are top notch though, and the town is brimming with tons of people my age working mind numbing jobs just so they can be a powderbum most of the year. The rest of the town is made up of either asian tourists, or very rich socialites from around the world whose purses cost more than my car. Most think they would be out of my league, but frankly I'm not into that type. Gimme tattoos and weirdness over them anyday. Though, they are eye catchingly good looking. Oh and that hotel waitress at the Spruce Grove Inn I stayed at was megahot. Foreign accents melt me into jello....

Wow I totally went off track there.

Banff is relatively small consisting of about 3 streets or so and a bunch of hotels. Nobody lives there unless you are rich or are the offspring of an oldtime prospecter from the earlier days. As mentioned earlier, the shops are all tourist traps and the restauants are amazing. I ate quite possibly the best egg benedict ever at the Bison Mountain Bistro. Peameal bacon, caramelized onions, perfect eggs, and the best
Mountain ane meMountain ane meMountain ane me

Me at the entrance to the national park.
hollandaise sauce ever. Probably 5000 calories but I don't care, I'm on vacation.

I couldn't have asked for better weather. I zipped up a cable car onto Sulfur Mountain and the view was stunning, even when the clouds washed over me. Cold as an iceage sure, but worth it. Also worth checking out is the Fairsprings hotel which is an old canadian rail hotel that is massive. It will be my future home if I have anything to say about it. It would be tempting to live in Banff and become a skibum, assuming I could afford it all. Stunning beauty all around with tons of eye candy!

Next up is tons of sightseeing around the Banff park, and the Jasper National Park!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Hotel mountainHotel mountain
Hotel mountain

The view from the room.
MountainsMountains
Mountains

So many good sites.
Cable carCable car
Cable car

Going up the Banff cable car!
Cable carCable car
Cable car

View from about halfway up the cable car ride.
Cable carCable car
Cable car

Almost at the top now.
Sulfur mountain topSulfur mountain top
Sulfur mountain top

Huzaa, I'm a mountaineer! (sorta)
Sulfur mountainSulfur mountain
Sulfur mountain

The weather station right at the top.
Sulfur mountainSulfur mountain
Sulfur mountain

Another view from the top.
Sulfur mountainSulfur mountain
Sulfur mountain

Another view from the top.
BanffBanff
Banff

Main street of Banff.
BanffBanff
Banff

The other main street of Banff.
BanffBanff
Banff

Another view of downtown.
BanffBanff
Banff

The outskirts of town.
FairmountFairmount
Fairmount

Part of the lavish hotel.
FairmountFairmount
Fairmount

The big part of the lavish hotel.
FairmountFairmount
Fairmount

The hotel's backyard. My old man there as well :)


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb