My apartment


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Sharjah
September 18th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

So I've moved! Here are pictures of my apartment. I have a huge one with oodles of space. Did I already mention I had room for visitors? I am more than happy to put anyone up (I am referring to my friends who receive notices about my blog). As you can see from my pictures, a bunch of us from work went to Sharjah which is a Emirate past Dubai. The wife of one of the teachers knows a lot of the shop owners and can get us really good deals. For instance, if anyone wants a necklace with their name in Arabic-for silver it is 250 dirhams and for gold it is about 600 dirhams so just divide that amount by 3.3 and you get canadian prices. I think the pictures posted show a lot of what the souq has to offer.
My t.a. is Canadian and actually lived in Burlington before moving out here...isn't this a small world? Her name is Marian Alphonso and she is great. Her and her family live in the Shangrai- La and she invited us to her place. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel that anyone can visit. You can take
party palaceparty palaceparty palace

It is ready for parties as it has a counter ready to be set up as a bar! I have the biggest of all the styles of apartments.
a gondola ride and walk through a souq. There are also many restaurants. We ate at one called the noodle house which is Thai (my favourite).

One thing about living here is you meet so many different people. I think that is what i like the best about my experiences here.
If anyone wants anything, put in your orders soon.
Bye for now,

Sherry


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

living roomliving room
living room

I actually have a t.v. since this picture was taken.
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

This is one of the bathrooms in my apartment.
bathroombathroom
bathroom

Here is the second bathroom which comes off of my bedroom.
entranceentrance
entrance

We have decided that my entrance is officially the exercise room. All we have to do is buy our equipment.
The blue souq in SharjahThe blue souq in Sharjah
The blue souq in Sharjah

Most souqs now a days are inside air conditioned buildings and are more like malls.
jewelleryjewellery
jewellery

Here are some of the type of jewellery I like - traditional type stuff.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Here is one of the stores that a friend of ours brought us absolutely filled with pashmina's, duvet covers, table cloths ranging in prices but for example I can get a beautiful duvet cover with pillow cases for 140 dirhams which is about 43.00 dollars canadian.
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Some of the staff shopping
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Here we all are spending all our money.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Some of the things in the shop.
pashminaspashminas
pashminas

here is a pile of pashminas that I was wading through - I can take orders if you see anything you like.
jewelleryjewellery
jewellery

There are sooo many jewellery stores here that you can really find a bargain. Don't bother ever shopping for jewellery in the malls.


18th September 2009

Belles photos! Je suis contente de voir que tu t'amuses! J'aimerais bien te voir dans certaines photos de temps en temps. Ici, il neige (pas vraie) simplement pour que tu commences à penser à ce que tu manqueras cette année. À bientôt
18th September 2009

Cool
Looks great Sherry. All the best. Jill
18th September 2009

Superbe!
Salut Sherry, pas mal beau ton appart. J'aimerais te dire que j'arrive! Je peux faire les magasins aussi! Je suis bien contente de savoir que tu es bien et continue de nous faire rire. Je t'embrasse.
19th September 2009

shopping
Salut Sherry! Pasnina pour moi serait bien. J'aimerai un de couleur marine. Pour les bijour essaie d
20th September 2009

Pashminas
Salut , je veux y aller mais bon ... pas pour maintenant les pashminas une bonne idée pour me faire sentir de le pays chaud, je vois que tu ssemble avoir beaucoup de plaisir, continu de nous écrire Bonne semaine
8th October 2009

Nice Apartment
Your apartment looks great Sherry. How cool, having 2 bathrooms for one person! Take care and talk soon!

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb