Day 29 - Epic sleep, a bit more sun and the desert


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
August 20th 2013
Published: August 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After eating last night, I went out to find an ATM. I have booked on three trips to see me through my time here. I did intend to purely sunbathe and chill, but to be honest, that is hard work. I just get so fidgety! I have booked for a night in the desert tonight, a tour round Dubai tomorrow and a trip to Burj Khalife on Wednesday. Altogether it comes to about £200 , which I suppose isn't bad when you take into account that it cost £20 for a days Internet usage in the hotel!

I really don't want to buy anything in particular, but looking forward to looking in the souks. I have a couple of hours to sunbathe by the pool, then I am meeting the bloke who I have booked the trips with to get all the details. I am meeting him in the Lobby at three, then we set off for the desert at four. WOW...... That was certainly worth the effort! It was so much more than I expected.

We set off, and to be honest, I really didn't know where we were going exactly, well, we were heading for the Dubai Desert. The car had four other people in already, all Germans but they did speak good English. We arrived at a site where all the Travco vehicles met. We were doing this in convoy. OMG.... It was incredible speeding over and around the sand dunes. It was like a full on roller coaster. I was sat in the best/worst seat....in the front. I was screeching, grabbing the hand rail, holding my breath and shutting my eyes. All of those intermittently!...... And loved it. We stopped off for photos. There were roaming camels and antelopes..... More amazement. Then we stopped to watch the sunset..... More amazement. Then we set off again; we were heading for the Bedu. WOW....

It was a really good night. We had starters, then a belly dancer came on, then we had the main course - kebabs, rice, oh.... And all sorts of bits, followed by fruit. Then another spinning dancer. Hooter, the German Mum and I had a Hashish pipe thingy...ohhhh.... I just really enjoyed the whole thing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th August 2013

hey
hiya mum, sorry no message for a few days!!! god ive been soooooooooooooooooo busy! its Tuesday morning now. So last wednesday we went to the races with work - that was fun! bev races it was ladies day! then I had Thursday off, good job coz I had a million and ten jobs to do. I was teaching at elloughton on Thursday night, then straight on the train to London afterwards! by this time I was seriously hanging from all the drinking on Wednesday!! arrived in London at 10pm ish thurs night - we was staying in Leicester square - right near the west end it was totally amazing!!! then we was doing yoga all day fri from 10am till 10pm! with a few breaks then all day sat too - honestly mum it was sooooooooo amazing - she was such an amazing teacher. Kino Macgregor! got her book & DVD!! got home late sat night! we went to the humber market on sunday - which was nice to have a wander around!!! then back to work mon! im teaching tonight at warners - missing u in class loads!! :( god the Dubai desert looks amazing - the sun set too! it looks like uve had such an amazing time :) xxx bet u cant belive you've been gone 5 weeks xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
20th August 2013

Dubai Irish Bar
Hi Musthavacigy, Was round J& V yesterday. He improving - but still off work!! Was down withe Lee & Orla in Wilts at wknd. Lee goes back to Afghanistan on Wed. Glad we are all (J&V as well) going to Turkey soon. Will take Sadies mind off it. There is an "Irish Bar" in the hotel in Dubai we stayed in. Open to all. We were "watched" from arriving to leaving. So evident - he even came in the Irish Bar - then he was at the Airport!!
21st August 2013
image

Enjoying Dubai
Nice photo

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb