From the Dubai airport


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 5th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Strange things can happen when you try to save a few dollars on plane tickets. My itinerary includes three different airlines, which means checking in three times, checking luggage three times, going through security three times, and so on. In London, the person who checked me in at Biman Bangalesh Airlines had a bit of a chuckle that I'm flying through Dubai to Bangalore. He said that never in his many years working for Biman had anyone ever done this before. Really? It actually makes pretty good sense to me, Dubai is right on the way, between London & Bangalore.

Flying Biman Bangladesh reminded me of flying when I was a kid, when we'd take that flight half way around the world between South Africa & USA every couple of years. I always thought the airplane food was fabulous, we always had room to stretch out & sleep (my sister & I would lay on the floor with blankets & pillows), people were smoking on board, the airline stewardesses were lovely, and there was no entertainment offered. The dinner on Biman was great rice with curried veggies & spinach. The flight was half-empty, so I had a whole row to myself to stretch out & sleep. While technically it was non-smoking, people were "sneaking" off to the bathrooms to smoke the whole flight (I could smell the smoke at my seat, at least 10 rows from the bathroom). No movies or other entertainment, and lovely sari-clad stewardesses. (Noteably, I was the only western person on board.)

We arrived in Dubai at 2am, so obviously it was dark outside. I could see all kinds of large boats in the water as we approached, and the ultra impressive modern skyline. The airport was crowded, people sleeping under the many many palm trees inside the terminal (no kidding). On board Emerates Airlines, it was the opposite of Biman. It was without a doubt the fanciest flight, I've ever experienced. It had unlimited remote personal choice of tv (I watched 3 episodes of 30 Rock, and 2 of Friends, more tv than I’ve seen in the last 3 years) & movies (there must have been 200+ to choose from). Menu circulated with breakfast choices, free alcoholic beverages, and so on. Hot towels upon boarding. Spacious & far-back reclining seats. Big pillows, clean blankets in sealed plastic bags (collected after the flight by a gloved stewardess to be cleaned & bagged for next time). Classic, old school service; if you get the chance, fly Emerites! I have no idea how my super-cheap ticket included this service.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb