The foothills of the Himalaya - a 6-week trip.


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WEDNESDAY 25th June.
We are now back to Civilisation where the computers work; there are no frequent power cuts; the air conditioning works; the hot water is actually hot - and the plug in the bath keeps the water in!; the booze is free - well for 2 hours of the day, so it's a matter of drinking very quickly!; and the pool is great. Mind you it's only 45+C out there but I brought a vest with me!
Now I have good Internet access, and I'm chilling out after being up at 12,000' for 6 days , I can depress all you guys
I thought that I would put on all my photos with attendant suitable coarse captions, and then over the next 2 days complete my notes on the last 8-9 days in Northern India. And next time I do this carry-on, I am determined to buy a little lap-top so I can process all the details on a daily basis, and down-load them whenever possible.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

A cheeky monkey [in wood.]A cheeky monkey [in wood.]
A cheeky monkey [in wood.]

On the Krishna Temple in Naggar - approx 5,000 years old!
Candy-floss seller - somewhere!Candy-floss seller - somewhere!
Candy-floss seller - somewhere!

Manali, actually amongst the deodar trees.
Our first Yak.Our first Yak.
Our first Yak.

Spotted in Manali at a fair-ground.
On the road between Manali and Leh.On the road between Manali and Leh.
On the road between Manali and Leh.

Our first road-block due to an avalanche overnight.
Avalanche.Avalanche.
Avalanche.

The road was covered with up to 6' of mud and rocks for a distance of 300'.
The highest pass!The highest pass!
The highest pass!

At 18,000' I found I was breathless + unable to pass wind or water! It was like being in Heaven - I don't think!
Great Sikhs on the Pass.Great Sikhs on the Pass.
Great Sikhs on the Pass.

Usually Sikhs are a pain but this pair [and their other compatriots on motor-bikes] were handsome and really friendly!
Our hotel in Jispa.Our hotel in Jispa.
Our hotel in Jispa.

The Ibex - a bit basic but very enjoyable nonetheless!
A great trailer.A great trailer.
A great trailer.

How's about painting your trailer, Jimmy?
Washing pots by the road-side in Jispa.Washing pots by the road-side in Jispa.
Washing pots by the road-side in Jispa.

Typical India: the place can be spelt Jispa, Jespa or Jaspa, depending on how you're feeling!


Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1924s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb