Getting there


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
April 21st 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To get to Germany is a bit of a mission, especially when you go for the cheapest flights. That meant that I had to fly 8 hours to Dubai, and then spend another 8 hours at the airport before leaving on another 6and a half hour flight to Munich. (Which is a bit of a miracle in itself as when I booked the tickets there was a mixup between my dad and I and for a while there were no tickets, and then suddenly tickets at R1000 cheaper than the previous tickets, amazing grace) It's not too bad to be in dubai airport for so long, a lot of people spend so long in shopping centres, and that is basically what the airport is.

Some of the highlights of the trip was meeting Philip Morkel from Wellington on the airport, on his way to London. (Dubai airport is a hub of people going anywhere in the world, except Dubai) We met in the free Buffet lounge for people who has a stay over of longer than 4 hours. (Yes, there is such a place!) This helped a lot to shorten the time, Yes, small graces, which is starting to become a theme of this trip.

Another small grace was Johan, the guy I sat next to on the plane. I asked him where He is from and he said a small town near Munich. ok, well I'm going to Freising, to study there. Guess where he is from. that's right, Freising. Eventually I had a lift with him to the airport and he made sure that I find the person waiting for me at the busstop (More amazing grace)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb