Bad Fog in the UAE


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well we have been having a lot of very heavy fog recently. I had to drive up to Abu Dhabi on Sunday and had to drive through this fog and it was actually quite scary. I even thought about stopping and turning back as the fog was so thick that the fog lights did nothing and you couldn't see anything 5 metres ahead of you.

Well today everything went very wrong for people in Dubai and there was a major crash on Sheikh Zayed Road on the boundary of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. Apparently over 200 cars were involved and about 20 of them were on fire, with 6 confirmed dead and 40 injured. Not a good day.

It has also been the most bizarre day for me. I have had a formal grievance laid against me by an ex colleague. And this colleague didn't bother emailing the regional management. Oh no. He decided to email the CEO of the global business. NICE! So the only time that the Global boss has ever heard my name is in relation to something totally negative.

So that took up quite a bit of time in the morning - and is still being dealt with. And then this afternoon I received a completly random phone call from a head hunter who has some jobs that he wants to talk to me about. And then when I went to the mall I got followed into a store by a guy who proceeded to talk away to me and wouldn't leave me alone (I was even thinking about getting security), kept asking me if I had time for a drink, and then only left me alone when I said that I had a boyfriend.

And then I got a text from someone I met at Bahrain airport who wants to meet up next week, goodness only knows what for - but thank goodness I will be in Spain.

And this is all on top of the neat guy that I met on a project in Oman yesterday (who owns the company that made the cushion envelope for the Eden project and works all over the world) who also suggested that he might like to employ me.

I have no idea what is going on, but there must be some weird alignment of the planets or something at the moment beause all of that is just tooo weird.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb