Red Arrows


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The CornicheThe CornicheThe Corniche

Unfortuately after an incident in which a child got a size nine desert boot in the face, I got banned from this playground.
The only thing Abu Dhabi lacked on a Friday afternoon was nine Hawk aircraft flying inches apart from each other in a stunning aerobatic display. Luckily the Red Arrows were in town and gave us a half hour of Britain’s finest showing people how to really fly over the Corniche. Anyone who has ever seen me reverse park knows that I have got precision vehicle manoeuvring skills, so I am fully qualified to assess these boys, and yes, they are quite good. Although how hard can it be? It’s only like driving, but with an “up/down” component, and you don’t even have to worry about hitting the curb or taxis cutting you up. Once I’ve seen the Red Arrows back a Land Cruiser in the spot between the fire hydrant and the badly parked BMW, with a van abandoned in the middle, at night, THEN I’ll be impressed. And I can do it without the aid of red smoke belching from the exhaust.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ShezShez
Shez

Shez on her way to watch the "Red Arras" as she calls them.
EntranceEntrance
Entrance

The Arras take to the stage.
FormationFormation
Formation

They are probably only doing about 400mph.
Smoke on the Water...Smoke on the Water...
Smoke on the Water...

...and fighters in the sky. Do you see what I did there?
The Grand FinaleThe Grand Finale
The Grand Finale

I was just starting to think the boys had forgotten about me.


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb