Terry Fox "Marathon of Hope"


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
February 18th 2011
Published: February 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Good Afternoon,

As promised, I have taken some pics of the 30th Terry Fox "Marathon of Hope" (16th year for Abu Dhabi...pretty impressive!) from this morning.

Four of us teachers from my school, participated. They began the pre-race festivities with the UAE Anthem and said that it would be followed by the Canadian Anthem.....again, impressive.....NOT......it never happened (don't think the band knew how to play it...lol).

Oh well, it was fun anyway and I guess they had good intentions (although the money raised by the event has to stay in the UAE...for research???? Not sure they research anything here). Oh well, it's the thought that counts. Plus, I was happy to be a part of something that made me proud to be a Canadian (as you can see by my t-shirt). I think I would've shed a tear or two hearing the anthem anyhow.....miss you all!!

Enjoy the pics and comments!

P.S. Take care....I think the gopher saw his shadow right? Won't be long for ya now.....xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The ribbon they gave us to pin on....The ribbon they gave us to pin on....
The ribbon they gave us to pin on....

...no numbers...no winners....no prizes!
Trish, Me, Azemina..Trish, Me, Azemina..
Trish, Me, Azemina..

..enjoying a coffee/tea waiting for the race to begin and Sandra to arrive
Pre-race pic...Pre-race pic...
Pre-race pic...

Azemina, Sandra, and Me
Pre-race stretch...Pre-race stretch...
Pre-race stretch...

...I only started back running one week ago (every second day). Haven't ran since August!
After 4.5 km..After 4.5 km..
After 4.5 km..

...still smilin' (not Sandra however...lol)
Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..
Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..

...we (she) did it...lol
Whew......Whew......
Whew......

...Sandra was saying "I can't do it..I am dying.." about here....I pushed her to finish...she says I am her inspiration...I guess you never really lose it
Halas!Halas!
Halas!

...post-race pic...Trish, Azemina, and Sandra
We did it.....We did it.....
We did it.....

Ran the entire 9km ...Al Budoor KG Teachers showing off our certificates!
The completion certificate...The completion certificate...
The completion certificate...

....I had to write my own name on it...I think they only know how to spell "Mohamed"....lol
Terry Fox...Terry Fox...
Terry Fox...

...feels like such a long time ago...God Bless his soul


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb