New Year Entry #2


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
January 6th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well here it is.......New Year Entry #2...as promised!

I have arrived back in the UAE and it is December 31st @ approx. 7:50 p.m. (a little more than 4 hrs until midnight. After an VERY long 13 hour flight AND a 9 hr increase in time). I was greeted back at my hotel apartment by Mark's mother and her husband Bob (they had been staying at my apartment while touring the UAE, while I was back home). The greeting was wonderful, since they had taken care of preparing a few munchies and champagne for us all to ring in the New Year together....it was a very enjoyable evening after a very long flight, for sure.

The next day (New Years Day), Bob had booked us in for "Tea" at the Emirates Palace. I had never been there yet, so I was excited to be invited to join them. They departed Abu Dhabi on the 2nd (back to school day for me) and headed to a city called Al Ain before departing the UAE altogether. I have yet to hear, via their BLOG, how they enjoyed that. Al Ain is approx. one hour from Abu Dhabi and is supposed to be an Oasis. Half of the English speaking teachers that came to Abu Dhabi, were also placed at schools there.

While home for the holidays, I purchased some 'resources' to bring back with me. Dollarama has to be the BEST BY FAR, dollar store out there. Without much "ado" I will let the pictures I have taken to share with you, speak for themselves.....let's call them "Hockey Night In Abu Dhabi"???...lol....Enjoy!!! xo

P.S. PLEASE read the the captions they were fun to create!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

"BobMar""BobMar"
"BobMar"

Mark's Mom Marlene, and Bob...their BLOG signature is BobMar
Hockey Night In Abu Dhabi...Hockey Night In Abu Dhabi...
Hockey Night In Abu Dhabi...

...I bought the sticks and pucks for $2. each at Dollarama and brought them back with me
The nets came from where else...The nets came from where else...
The nets came from where else...

...Walmart...$16. for 2 nets and 2 mini sticks...lol....gotta love it!!
Drills.....Drills.....
Drills.....

...they simply loved this!
A high stick?A high stick?
A high stick?

....and a few words at centre...lol
Abdulla...Abdulla...
Abdulla...

...a natural


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb