My First Blog!!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
November 17th 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hanging in JordanHanging in JordanHanging in Jordan

Me on our recent trip to Amman, Jordan
I suppose I'll start by telling you a about myself. Yep, that's me in the picture, during our trip to Jordan. My name is Kathryn, and I'm a professional Expat Wife, I guess. Yes, that is currently my job description. For those of you who don't know, Expat comes from expatriate, which the dictionary defines as someone who has taken up residence in another country. So yes, I follow my hubby wherever in the world his job takes us. I am adept at setting up a household in a flash, making friends I will ultimately say goodbye to forever, and adapting to the culture around me. Honestly, I feel like I'm in the military sometimes. We Expat Wives, like military wives, must go with the flow.

My current assignment is in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. We have been here for about a year. I've made a bunch of friends, and hopefully, when we move again, I'll keep up with some of them! I have a pretty easy life and feel like I'm constantly on vacation. I live right on the beach in a gorgeous beach view apartment. I play tennis, go to lunch once a week or so, and my hubby and I go to dinner several times a week. I can't really complain too much about my life. I have a high school senior year as well, and he keeps me busy still. I study French and am getting my nutrition certification, to keep my mind busy! And, I have forever been trying to finish a screenplay. Someday, for sure!! Or as they say here, Insh' Allah (hopefully).

It's not all fun and games in my life, though. This assignment has been bitter sweet, really. I have two sons in the U.S, as well as a wonderful family. I only get to see them once a year. I know they really wish my husband and I didn't like to travel so much, but they've sort of gotten used to it over the years. Despite the distance, I think of them all the time and miss them terribly!!

Because of our location we've really gotten to travel quite a bit. In the past year we've visited Jordan, Oman, Spain, England, Singapore, Cambodia. It's been a great ride! Certainly the biggest perk of living here. Travel is our thing. I look forward to sharing some of my past, and future experiences, and learning about yours!!



Advertisement



17th November 2009

Sounds like a good life....
And we look forward to reading your blogs wherever hubby takes you ! Great start, Kat.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb