Peacock land


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m sorry I have neglected this since I moved to Paris… But I have just been busy and crappy internet doesn’t actually whip up a verbal frenzy in me. So I have gone into a self-imposed isolation by going to Dhaka for the holidays. I thought it was a good idea because well there is only one year left till I graduate and I need to figure things out.. Usually going to BD helps me put things into perspective.. I don’t know if I want to work or go to grad school. Stay in Canada or move… I need to figure out my strengths and weaknesses.

Sooo I’m sitting in Abu Dhabi airport as I’m writing this. I’m in the original part of the airport.. ie. the peacock themed one aka. what my friend hani likes to call bean sprout or in other words just plain ugly.. everytime I come to this airport.. it just gets worse and worse every time I come…

The trip started out fine.. minus my oh-so heavy suitcase.. lugging it around paris metro/ rer was NOT fun.. ah well.. c’est la vie.. atleast people were nice enough to give me a hand with it! I fell asleep before take off and woke up twice in between for brief periods. Once to eat brunch which was good by airplane food standards but I could barely keep my head up.. and then second time I thought I would give Wall-E a try… they had an excellent selection of movies.. but I fell asleep 10 mins in. And the next time I woke up.. they were announcing our arrival to Abu Dhabi.. sweetness.. They landed in the furthest terminal possible.. it was prolly a 10 mins shuttle ride… which by my standards was LONG… anyhoodle.. I get here and I get directed to the old part to my great joy… and it just gets worse.. my three hour layover turned into 6… yes.. six! What the hell am I gonna for 6 hours in this god forsaken airport?!.. I tried using the airport comps for a while.. they would log me out every 14 mins.. which got annoying.. apparently they are not meant for long term use.. bah. And then.. I tried my luck with wifi.. it disconnects every 2 mins.. so im writing this in word at the moment.. im gonna try and transfer this over the first chance I get..

Well I am quite proud of myself I killed 2 hours.. 4 more to go.. I’ll prolly go find my gate early.. like around 1ish.. my flight is supposedly gonna leave at 3;20. bullshit.

So that is my update for now. I will write another post from BD. I’m quite excited to spend my birthday there. It’ll be nice. And I’m hoping somewhat that this birthday party idea of Anu’s doesn’t totally throw me off the whole concept of birthdays for the rest of my life… because as much as I am somewhat encouraging it.. hopefully it’s not disastrous. I need to find a red dress.

Bah my comp's gonna die in 22 mins.. on the plus side.. i am getting a lotta work done.. im proud of myself.
This report is gonna rock everyone's world esp Aude's. =D

Anyway i promise more updates more frequently for my remaining days...

xx

(i totally have the whole bisous thing down! =D)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb