Lulu Island...also known as paradise...


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lulu IslandLulu IslandLulu Island

The best day ever.
It is quite possible that I will never leave Abu Dhabi as a result of my experiences today. I spent the day on Lulu Island, just off the coast of Abu Dhabi, and it was exactly what I have always dreamed that the most perfect place in the whole world would look like. It was, in a word, paradise. My friend Barb and I took a taxi to the ferry dock where we caught a boat over to Lulu Island, which is a man-made island that sits about half a mile (if that) off the coast. We then got on a bus that drove us around to the opposite side of the secluded island to claim our hut and beach chairs. With some books and magazines, a cooler and a packed lunch - we had a whole day of leisure and relaxing awaiting us. We floated in the water on our rafts and the rest of the time we sat in the water on our chairs. The books and magazines were long forgotten...we spent most of the day describing how amazing this place was to each other.

Erin: "Can you believe this place? It's paradise!"
Barb: "I know, it's really
Bus RideBus RideBus Ride

We rode the bus until we found the perfect spot to claim.
amazing, isn't it?"
Erin: "Unbelievable. And we are here for work! This is the best job ever."
Barb: "I never want to leave. Ever."
Erin: "I'm not leaving! Let's stay here and live off of bottled water and dates."
Barb: "I second that idea. This is paradise."
Erin: "WHOA! Is that a dolphin!?!"

And it was. A dolphin swam past us and down the coast about 100 feet from where we were floating. It was gently gliding up and out of the water very casually, as if it were on a Sunday stroll. Oh, Lulu Island, how I love thee.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me & the Palm TreeMe & the Palm Tree
Me & the Palm Tree

These palm trees grow dates, which are in abundance here in Abu Dhabi. They collect them in these bags to save them from the birds. Actually, that was totally a guess, I don't really know why they are in bags. Someone told me but I forgot. :)
Lulu Island from my windowLulu Island from my window
Lulu Island from my window

The piece of land just off the coast is Lulu Island. This is the view from my hotel room - we were on the far side of the island today.
The Tallest Flagpole in the WorldThe Tallest Flagpole in the World
The Tallest Flagpole in the World

As seen from our ferry boat.


10th June 2008

could your trip get any better than this. again, jealousy is my only feeling.
13th June 2008

Grand Adventure!
Erin, thanks for sharing this grand adventure with those of us still working at home. Look forward to hearing / seeing more!
14th June 2008

sing it with me...
Almost paradise! You're knocking on heaven's door! Almost paradise, how could you ask for more? Paaaaaradiiiiiiice...

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb